#SundaySnippet: War – Book 1

Blurb: 

She was his biggest mistake. He’s about to be her biggest regret.

Eliodoro “Eli” D’Amato has a busy enough life. His reality show is rate number one in the country, and he has endorsements coming from everywhere to guarantee his children wouldn’t have anything to worry about. But when a mistake from his past comes back, he wonders if this is a storm he can weather.

Faith D’Amato is going to stand by her husband no matter what drama from his supposed baby mama brings. When the paternity of her middle child is brought into question, Faith realizes that she has more questions than answers.

Simone Harris is not going down with a fight. If Eli and Faith want to play dirty, she’s willing to roll around in the mud. She wonders if her fight is a lost cause when it’s not Eli and Faith she’s fighting, but the entire D’Amato clan.

All is fair in love and war, right?

War is the first of three novellas that deals with the aftermath of infidelity, revenge, and if true love can be saved.


 

Snippet:

“Well, the bad news is since the videotapes showed Simone threw the first punch, Faith can claim self-defense,” Darren’s attorney, Ronnie Ware, sat in Darren’s home office. He was an older black man with a close-cropped hair cut and goatee. He was a regular pundit on news shows talking about celebrity crime stories. “The good news is the D’Amatos are willing to put all of this behind them with no scandal.”

Darren blinked at Ronnie. Once. Twice. “What does that mean exactly?”

“They’re willing to pay to make sure you and Simone shut up,” Ronnie replied, “I told their attorney to make an offer and he’s currently working on a bid. I’ll hear from him shortly.”

Darren breathed hard through his nose and sat back in his chair. So, that’s how the D’Amatos were able to do their dirt and no one knew a bad thing. Pay them off and go about their business. He won’t be that easy. “I’m not for sale.”

“Oh, I think you want to entertain this offer, D. The D’Amatos could have filed charges against Simone and that would’ve looked very bad if word got out in her role with the family. There’s a reason why Eli never mentioned her by name ever.” Ronnie sternly warned. “You may not care about your reputation, D., but Simone cares about hers. No one is going to go to an event planner who helped ruin someone’s marriage. What bride is going to trust her?”

“I know her past and she regrets her role,” Darren defended, “a lot has changed since what happened between her and Eli back then. She wants to move on.”

“So does Eli,” Ronnie added, “he’s also requesting a DNA test to ensure he is Elena’s father.”

“What?” Surprise flashed across Darren’s face. “This is news.”

“He’s always questioned if he was Elena’s father and now he wants to confirm before he makes visitation and child support arrangements.”

“Fucking beautiful,” Darren shook his head, “didn’t have a problem knocking her up but has a problem with being Elena’s father?” He rolled his eyes. “Fine. I’ll talk to Simone about a paternity test. This will settle everything once and for all.” A knock interrupted their meeting and Darren called the person in.

“Mr. Matthews?” His Cuban maid, Eloisa, replied. “You have a visitor. Mr. Chavez.”

“That’s my next appointment, Ronnie.” Darren stood up and shook the older man’s hand. “Thank you for stopping by.”

“I’ll keep you posted,” Ronnie gathered his suitcase and jacket. He paused and turned to Darren. “I meant what I said about the D’Amatos, D. You don’t want to fight them. They have many friends in high places that will make things difficult for you and Simone.” He left.

Darren’s lips pursed at the information. Who could the D’Amatos possibly know? All they ever hung out were Z-list reality stars, forgettable rappers, and a sprinkle of A-listers. None of them he would consider remotely powerful.


 

He gon’ learn today.

Book I (novella) will be out later this month.

6 thoughts on “#SundaySnippet: War – Book 1

  1. Tami says:

    I think I’m finally ready for this one. I’ve been hesitant to read about Eli and Faith’s destruction. I’m okay with breakups as long as I eventually get the HEA. Not sure that the reviews helped me this time…I like your writing too much to deny myself this part of the series.Picking back up today! Thanks!

    • veraroberts says:

      Honestly, readers will leave a bad review before they’ll leave a good one. Not sure why that is. Definitely not sure why that applies to me. And it’s frustrating because there are readers who will read the bad reviews and see if there’s a significant number of them, they won’t pick up the book. But let’s say, you go on goodreads or be part of another group, people are praising the same book that others trashed on Amazon. *kanyeshrug* I wish readers would be as passionate to leave the good reviews as they are to leave the bad ones because that does influence and affect sales in many ways. It also significantly influences how quick future books in a series come out, if they come out. However, I can’t make anyone review if they simply just don’t want to.

      I doubt the same ones who hated Where I Wanna Be, Love, and Nothing Even Matters will read War. Maybe I should rephrase that. If they’ve read all three books and were angry with each book, they’ll probably read this one and still continue to be angry. Go figure.

      My only suggestion is I want you, Tami, to have an open mind and remember it’s just fiction. Imagine this book is like a series played out on TV, each chapter is a new episode. Don’t try to predict it, don’t try to psychoanalyze what a character is doing; just enjoy it for what it’s worth. Have your favorites you’re rooting for, have the ones you can’t stand and anxiously wait to see what revenge they’ll get. But most of all, I want you to enjoy it. That’s all I care about.

      -V.

      • Tami says:

        I sure will. I typically don’t allow negative reviews to influence my reading if it’s a favorite author. It just makes me wait until I’m really ready or suffering a withdrawal. I came to the D’Amato series this late this year and came up for air when I realized that Faith and Eli were going to break up. I’m the type of reader who does all in on a series. I will finish!
        Also, I don’t care to leave negative nasty reviews. Wish others felt the same. I like to focus on what I enjoyed. If I dislike a book my critique follows the same line – what did I enjoy. My dislikes are usually if the story doesn’t feel completed, feels rushed. And that’s about all I will offer…it’s unfair and hypocritical for me to viciously criticize someone’s hard work. My adage – If you can’t do it yourself, then don’t criticize those that do.
        I love your writing! My first series was Breakaway, I’ve been a fan ever since. Want to encourage you to remember those of us who love your work. The naysayers will always be with us…And, I’ll do a better job of leaving reviews for all of my favorites. I must confess that I am often so overwhelmed after finishing a great book that it takes me a moment to gather my thoughts to leave a good review. Again, love your writing. Thank you for the gift you share with your readers!

Comments are closed.