Regarding Scott & Mariana (again)

So here’s the deal:

The last S&M book that featured them as main characters – Stronger than Pride – did not do well. Based on sales, I decided it was best to end the series. It is the only book with them that didn’t do well at all. I took it as a sign. But hey, there is a high note.

Jay’s and Sanora’s story will be fully explored in S&M IV, Part II. That book is going to be the final chapter in the S&M series. No more. That’s it. As I stated with the previous S&M IV book, it will be entirely Sanora-based. Scott and Mariana will be side characters in their story. There’s also a good chance they won’t be in it at all. I don’t know yet.

Personally, I’m okay with this decision. Even though Scott & Mariana may be popular to some, they’re not to all. My other couples – Faith and Eli (D’Amato Brothers), Sydney and Dean (Breakaway), Ian and Dominique (Feeling Some Type of Way) – actually surpassed them in popularity.

It ultimately comes down to sales and interest and it wasn’t there anymore. Even though I am a bit saddened that certain storylines won’t ever happen. (I mean, c’mon, Dove training Mariana to be a submissive? That would’ve been explosive to read. Scott confronting the Nation of Islam in his office? Wow!) However, I am content that with Stronger than Pride, they have a happily ever after.

Scott & Mariana will still appear in other books; they just made a guest appearance in Bad and Bougie.

Who knows? Maybe Dove might show up in Feeling Some Type of Way as Angel’s submissive teacher. Why would Dove be there? Would she also have a history with Ian? Hmm…now that would be very interesting. We have to wait and see.

Thank you for your love and support!

God Bless!

-V.

6 thoughts on “Regarding Scott & Mariana (again)

  1. V. Mont says:

    I’m bummed but I completely understand 😔😏. I was looking forward in reading about Dove training Mariana and if they worked through their issues (Dove, Mari and Scott). How Scott and Mariana found their way back and moved forward, the start of their family and the downfall of Capriana. I am probably a few of your true S&M fans, but this will not stop me from reading your books. Good luck and I look forward to your future stories.

  2. Judy says:

    Oh noooo, I wanted to know what happened to the crazy model ex of Scott did she get her just dues? Did Scott and Marina get married? My guess is some readers want the next follow up like yesterday and they forget you a mummy and wife as we as being an author and it has been so long since the last s & m book they lost interest this just my guess.
    I was looking forward to there next and final chapter. Hey ho, got to accept it. On wards and forwards waiting on Sandra.
    J.I

    • veraroberts says:

      In terms of Caprina, that’ll be answered in the final book.

      In terms of lost interest, you might be right. There have been several books that’ve come out since S&M IV with Scott and Mariana as leads, though The Ex-Factor did very well and that came out last year.

      I might be a special snowflake because I’ve noticed with me, there is a bit of overzealousness that other authors who have long-running series don’t receive, and that definitely played a part in the delay between books. When it’s a series I enjoy writing, the books come out in very quick succession ( D’Amato Brothers, Breakaway, Feeling Some Type of Way). When I receive a lot of unfair criticism and just plain old hate, there are delays (S&M, D’Amato Brothers) because I have to remind myself why I’m actually writing, LOL. People can be pretty bold behind a computer screen but never in person.

      I don’t regret ending it. Honestly, the series should’ve ended back in 2014 so I stretched it out well beyond its freshness date. Scott Reed paved the way for many other of my alpha males to have stories so to that, I’m forever grateful.

      And who knows? Maybe my ultimate dream of having S&M on the TV screen might come to fruition. We’ll just see. 🙂

  3. tratasmaria says:

    😭😭😭😭 I’m so saddened by this news. I guess I was one of the few who loved Scott and Mariana. It was by accident I chose your book. Honestly, the cover was the main decider. Well low and behold, I was in hook line and sinker. The dominance, the lip, the excitement, everything was a joy to read. Sad, but will look out for them, though I must say, your suggestions were mmmm,mmm,mm. What a shame. Fresh m one extreme to another, do love the Da’Amato series, always looking forward to see what Eli is up to.
    Take care and awaiting new book. Currently re-reading Feeling Some Type of Way before I read Bad and Boogie.
    Happy fan
    Maria

    • veraroberts says:

      Scott & Mari will pop in. Maybe they’ll have novellas, but not full-length novels again. I just think their time as standalone have come to an end.

      But hey, I have plenty of other hot couples to write!

Comments are closed.