#FlashFriday: War

“You can’t keep doing to this to me, Faye!” Eli got up and paced the kitchen. “When I had the affair with Simone, I came clean about everything in therapy, okay? Every fucking thing! I told you when I had issues in our relationship. I told you how it made me feel when she gave me some attention. I told you when we had a fight, I went to her. I told you all of this! And I came clean. I didn’t want any more secrets, any more lies, I wanted a fresh start.

“So then I find out you’ve been texting the quarterback. And then I find out you’ve had lunch with him. Not from you, though. The phone bill told me. My friend at the paper told me. But we got past that, man. We worked on everything.

“I thought we had a good life, Faye! I thought we worked past everything! And now I got find out in front of the whole goddamn world that there’s a fucking sex tape starring you and him? And now I have to find out there are pictures floating around and he might have shown other people? And now, you’re telling me there’s more. And now you’re telling me it wasn’t just that weekend with Darren but there were a few times after the reconciliation.

“And there’s more, there’s more, there’s more!” He angrily pounded his fist into his palm. “And this is what you did every time I went to the shop? Every time I went out of town, you ran up the damn phone bill talking to him?

“I told you to tell me everything all at once. I told you I didn’t want to find out from anyone but you. You don’t think I’ve heard whispers? You don’t think there are people saying, ‘Yo, I heard from so and so about Faith?’ And what did I do? I ignored them because if it didn’t come from my wife, it was just bullshit. And it’s only when we have a fight, ‘Oh, by the way, I fucked Darren after we reconciled.’” He mocked her voice. “But I shouldn’t question E.J.?”

“Faye, every time I’ve worked on our marriage, you worked just as hard to destroy it. Why do you put me through all of this? Break my heart once! You gotta break my heart each time I do something that pisses you off? You gotta bring up shit from the past? This is every single time, Faye! I’m tired, okay? I’m tired of fighting. I’m tired of we’ll have a good week, a good month, and then it’s like World War Three in our home because you’re still hurt over Simone.”

The silence was thick between the pair for a long while. Faith remained silent at the dining room table while Eli breathed hard as he found the strength to press on. “If you don’t want me, let me go. If you don’t want our marriage, let’s end this shit right now.” His voice was calm like a river. “But let it be no mistake, there are many women who would love to be Mrs. Eli D’Amato, would love to be in your shoes, and you’re abusing the fucking privilege.” He left.


 

Do reasons behind the divorce look a little clearer now?

War will be out this spring. Release details and pre-order will be out within the next few weeks.

10 thoughts on “#FlashFriday: War

  1. Cindy says:

    Thank you for continue the stories of D’Amato Brothers, I was really upset when you decided to quit writing their stories (I refuse to buy any other books). I love all their stories especially Faith and Eli, I wanted some much for you to finish their stories, so I thank you from the bottom of my heart. I do have one question, is Simone’s baby girl Eli’s will this come out in War. I am looking forward to read this book.

  2. Spagirl says:

    Ok . So Faith did cheat with Darren after she went back to Eli. So the book is after love but before Nothing even matters. When I read nothing even matters I felt like a lot was missing.

    • veraroberts says:

      I did that intentionally. A few readers were incorrectly predicting what was going to happen in future books so I needed to throw a curveball and knock the wind out of people.

      And hopefully get them to stop trying to predict the series. 🙂

  3. Tamela Y Spann says:

    I have not read any of these yet but guess what series just went to the top of my MUST READ list?!!! That was an AWESOME piece! Can’t wait for the rest…well yes I can because I’ve got a lot of reading to do! 😉

  4. towandaspencer says:

    I am re-reading all the brothers books before reading the new book. Can’t help myself 😀

  5. tratasmaria says:

    OMG. Well, for so long I have advocated Faith, though I love Eli. What else does this woman want! Eli, as you said, “there are many other women who would love to be Mrs Eli Da’Amato”. You know the old saying -once bitten twice shy, give a fingernail, take the hand. Well, I think it’s about time Faith got a wake up call and a swift kiss up the ass. Eli deserves his kids, I’m sorry Faith, but my faith has fallen for you too.
    Oh, soooooo can’t wait for War to come out. Let the countdown begin….

Comments are closed.