#ThrowbackThursday: The Ex-Factor #contemporary #romance #diversebooks

The Ex-Factor Medium

“There’s something else I wanted to talk to you about.”

“Oh?” Scott turned to her. “What is it, baby?”

“I want to submit to You again,” she admitted. “I miss being a submissive. I miss being Your submissive. I want to do a boot-blacking session. I want to learn how to do a chado tea ceremony. I miss you giving me assignments and disciplining me whenever I mess up. I want to be at your beck and call.” She kneeled in front of Scott. “I miss serving You, Sir.”

There was something so sweet, yet sexy hearing Mariana call Scott Sir. Her voice was full of love and need, with the desire to whatever He wanted, at His bidding and pleasure.

The timing was off. The universe had a funny way of putting them together for things to never quite pan out the way they should. He pushed her away due to his own issues, but once those were quickly resolved, another prominent one came in:

She needed to learn her worth without his influence.

He spoiled her endlessly and without care, treating her to the finest restaurants and lifestyle. He’d replaced her cubic zirconias with brilliantly cut diamonds, rubies, and emeralds. Her worn-out sneakers were thrown away as several pairs of Jordans claimed space. Her old car that gave her numerous problems was donated to charity when he purchased the stunning Mercedes.

What did she do in return? Simply love him. No, it was more than that. She practically worshipped the ground he walked on. Serving him was her life’s calling and she would do it forever. His pleasures were bigger than hers. His needs were stronger than hers. She took care of him before she even took care of herself sometimes. He would never find another like her.

And how he did he repay her? He treated her like that morning’s trash.

Guilt plagued him and he poured all of his energy into work, creating brilliant campaigns and being on top of his game. A recent contract with NHL wunderkind Dean Winchester would solidify Scott’s legendary status.

Everything was coming together for the two of them but Scott knew the timing was off. He wanted Mariana to submit to him but only when it was perfect. It was far from it.

“I can’t have you do that,” he shook his head, “not yet.”

Scott’s words shocked Mariana upright. Her brain went into various directions. Her body shook from sadness and hurt.

Her heart was incredibly and possibly irrevocably broken.

She couldn’t believe what was happening. After everything they’d experienced that week? After the promises he’d given her? “When?” She begged, her voice cracked with tears. “Why not now?”

“You’re not ready,” he stated and she shook her head in silent protest. Her eyes watered and her mouth quivered. Scott felt like shit but he needed to explain to her. “You’re not ready.” He repeated.

“Okay,” she sat down on the bed and buried her face in her hands. She sniffled at first before she could no longer contain the emotions and profusely sobbed. Her chest burned with anger and humiliation. Her emotions choked her and she felt it difficult to breathe. Hot tears streamed down her cheeks and her cries echoed throughout the hotel room.

All she wanted to do was to submit and please Him, Sir, and He denied her the privilege.

Was there something wrong with her? Was she no longer worthy? Why did He have to do that to her? Why?

“Mari,” Scott sat next to her and she turned away from him. He pulled her to him and wrapped his arms around her. “Mari, I need to explain.” She violently shook her head. “No, I need to tell you why. It’s not that you’re not worthy of submission or I’m not into it anymore. We both know that’s not true. I want you to fully explore your sexuality and maybe, that means taking a backseat on the domination and submission aspect of our relationship for a while. The past three years of your life have been consumed with me and what I’m doing but very little about you and your needs. I’m doing this for you. I’m doing this for us.”

“All I want is to serve You,” she cried.

“And you will but not yet. This isn’t a punishment or some fuck you to get back at you.” He rubbed her back. “It’ll happen but not now. You have a major account you’re doing and I want your focus on that. I don’t want to impede in any way, shape, or form. After the campaign is done, then maybe, we’ll explore BDSM again. But for now, we need to keep this vanilla.” He rubbed her back as he felt her become limp against him. He hated seeing her so upset and really felt like a class-A asshole for making her feel horrible.

“I want you to explore you, you got that? I know you want to submit to me, but I need you to get everything out of your system before you can do that. You said there was a lot more you wanted to explore and I want to help you with that before you return as a submissive.” He pulled away from her and thumbed away her tear-stained cheeks. He pressed his forehead against hers. “It doesn’t mean I don’t want to be with you, baby. I love you with everything. But I want us to work up to the D/s relationship we had instead of jumping right into it like before. I want things to be different between us. I don’t want to give you a reason to leave nor do I want to push you away ever again.”

“I won’t ever leave you,” Mariana sniffled.

“And I won’t ever leave you,” Scott promised. “But I want us to take it slow this time.”

“Slow?” She looked up at him.

“Slow-ish,” he gave a soft chuckle and she smiled. “As slow as we can go knowing us.”

“I like that,” she spoke softly.


 

The Ex-Factor is available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords. It’ll be available very soon on iTunes and your local library.