What a year…

2016 has been pretty interesting. I started the year off being at a crossroads with my writing and wondering what avenue to pursue. I’m ending the year pretty solid in my decisions and happy I chose the path I did.

On paper and personally, it’s actually been one of my most successful years:

Highlighted twice by USA Today. Two consecutive number one books. Two books in the Top 10 at the same time. Four books in the Top 100 at the same time. My fan base exponentially grew and it’s only going to become bigger and broader.

Pretty awesome, if I say so myself.

In many other areas, 2016 has been pretty awful. I saw the passing of several of my heroes – David Bowie, Prince, Rod Temperton, Carrie Fisher, and Maurice White. I witnessed the dumpster truck fire known as the 2016 US Presidential election. I saw the hasty reaction of turning Black Lives Matter to [Insert Creative Name here] Matter to people who took it as a joke.

And I became worried. I also became determined.

While I am concerned with the state of the world and have a feeling it’s going to become worse before it gets better, I also feel solace in the pen. I’ve read many great authors this year – many self-published and outside of romance (in fact, quite a few were fantasy/supernatural and YA) – who have greatly influenced my writing. They taught me to think outside the box and to take more risks and more chances.

I’m very excited about what’s happening in 2017. As always, I never announce intentions until the week of (or even the day of) so I won’t have anyone influencing me why I shouldn’t write a certain book (smile!). There will be one major event happening in 2017 I can’t wait to share with all of you as it becomes closer. I will say, I can guarantee you no one in a certain category (here’s looking at you, IRMC) has ever done it before.

Have a blessed and wonderful New Year. See you in 2017.

xoxoxo

-V.

8 thoughts on “What a year…

  1. Karol says:

    I’ve so enjoyed reading your stories. Please keep the faith and keep writing. Have a wonderful and blessed New Year.

  2. Rincewind says:

    I so wish you the best. Looks like yr writing is going strong and fuck me, getting noticed by the USA Today is awesome. So cheers for a good year to come for you and your family.

  3. staceymkindles says:

    Vera you are a terrific writer and deserving of all the accolades you get. I’m so blessed to have found your work. Can’t wait to see what 2017 brings! Have a Happy New Year! Be safe!

  4. pamelajw17 says:

    Vera you are so deserving of the recognition. I have been a fan of your writing from the first Scott and Mariana book I read. I searched and purchased and read all of the books, short stories, blurbs and teasers you’ve penned (that I could find). You are a versatile author who’s able to pull people in to the character and stories regardless of the different circumstances or storylines. I’m glad that you didn’t allow the naysayers and haters to deter you from writing and rob your fans of your great talent. Keep up the good work and Happy New Year to you and yours.

    • veraroberts says:

      Thank you, honey!

      In terms of the haters…eh, they’re motivators. I keep telling them each time they speak negative about me two things happen: 1) God blesses me EVEN MORE, 2) my book sales skyrocket and so does my popularity. I really need to put them on my payroll!

      Happy New Year! xoxoxo

Comments are closed.