#SexySunday: Feeling Some Type of Way

feeling-some-type-of-way-1400x2100

“Tell me something I don’t know about you.”

It was how Ian started the conversation once we’d arrived at the charity gala. The blinding light from numerous photographers flashed in our direction as we walked up the long stairs to the Gallery.

There was a lot Ian didn’t know about me. On our way to the gala, we learned of each other birthdays (his is on October 10th while I’m on June 8th. Yes, I already did the mental horoscope readings of a Libra and Gemini pairing), each other’s favorite food (he loves an Italian dish he can only get in Italy, go figure. I’m good with the nearest Papa John’s), and annoyances (in his words, ‘I hate stupid women.’ I think that’s something we both agreed on).

But now the fun and games were over. He wanted to know something more in-depth about me. The fact I often tossed and turned at night and never slept in one spot. The fact I’m a Maury diehard even going as far as predicting which storylines were faker than Kim Kardashian’s butt.

I’m sure none of that interested Ian.

I didn’t want to play all intelligent and S-M-R-T because that’s not why he brought me here. I decided to surprise him with something I know would either scare him off or welcome him into the family.

“My brother is now my sister,” I smiled for the camera as Ian wrapped a hand around my waist.

He turned to me with a smile on his face. I don’t know if it was genuine or if he did it for the ‘Gram. “Really?”

“Yes, really. Her name is Adrienne.” I made sure all of my teeth showed. “Do I have any lipstick on my teeth?”

“No, you’re perfect,” he casually replied. He has a tendency of making life-changing compliments like that as if they’re nothing.

“That doesn’t bother you?” I asked as we held hands and walked inside. “A lot of people don’t like that.”

“I’m strangely curious, yes. I don’t know any transgendered people,” he admitted, “but I would love to meet your…” He paused. “…sister.”

Baby steps. At least he wasn’t disgusted by Adrienne and seemed open to meeting her. “She used to be a sex worker but she’s not anymore. She sells art online.”

Ian picked up two glasses of champagne and handed one to me. “Is she good?”

“I think she is but that’s just my opinion. I’m sure everyone would say the same about their sibling.” I shrugged.

“Not necessarily. I kick Gerald’s ass in basketball while he wipes the floor with me in chess.” He replied. He clinked glasses with me. “To a beautiful future.”

I felt the small zaps of hope popping up all over my body as my heart belted into a chorus of Rihanna’s “Only Girl In the World.” My pounding heartbeat was making me deaf. “To a beautiful future,” I calmly replied as I sipped the champagne. Wow. This shit is horrible. I’m not sure if I even want to speak to the server who gave me this. This shit tastes like fallen dreams and sorrow.

Even Ian noticed the taste. He stared down at his glass as if he wanted the taste to somehow appear. All of this fancy-schmancy glitz and they can’t get the champagne, right? “I want to meet your sister and see her artwork.” He finally turned to me. “I want to get to know you more, Domi. I feel like I don’t really know you.”

“I could say the same about you.” It’s true. I have an idea who Ian is but I really have no clue.

He stepped closer to me and caressed my cheek. “Trust me when I say you already know a whole lot about me than most people, if not all.” He heard his name called and nodded the other person over. “Let’s go mingle with some stuffy fools tonight.”

That man is full of surprises. Just when I think I know Ian and what he’s all about, he hits me with another one of his notorious pop quizzes. I better get an A in this class.


 

Feeling Some Type of Way will be available on Tuesday.

To purchase, click here.