#MidWeekTease: Feeling Some Type of Way COVER REVEAL

feeling-some-type-of-way-1400x2100

Blurb:

Every girl has that one thing she will not do. No matter how hard times get. No matter how little money she has. No matter what…there is that one thing she will refuse to do.

Ian Ferguson was that for me.

Working for one of the world’s most eligible billionaires taught me many things: I can tell the difference between BCBG and Balenciaga. I know how much mileage I can put into my Jimmy Choos before I have to get another pair. I know when Ian was in a good mood and when I should get the hell out of dodge.

Working for Ian also taught me…I can’t separate my personal feelings from our professional relationship.

Lady luck and a killer bod was on my side, though. Amateur night at the local strip club taught Ian I was no longer the desperate college student he met a few years ago, but a grown-ass woman with grown-ass needs. And honestly, I think he already knew that but never acted on it.

I just hope this experiment is worth the effort from both of us. He’s got me feeling some type of way…


 

Unedited Excerpt:

“I want to see if everything is okay with us,” he explained, “it seems you’ve been distant lately and I wonder if I played a part in that?”

“Would it matter if you did?” The boldness of three glasses of wine came out. “What difference would it make? I’m just sweet girl “Domi” you just take to galas, remember?”

Ian chuckled at me. I hated the feelings that arise in me when I hear his baritone voice. I want to sock him before I blow him. “Now we’re getting somewhere.”

I have nothing to lose and I don’t give a… “You like her,” I mentioned it to Ian.

“Sydney?” He asked and I nodded. “She’s a beautiful talent. I see her doing a lot of things.”

“No, you liked her as in you wanted to date her,” I pointed out. It was clear to everyone but Ian he’d taken a personal interest in Sydney. I was jealous as all shit but what could I do? I was just nice Domi to him. “You bought her a million-dollar loft.”

“It was a wedding present to her and her fiancée,” Ian countered. “He’s the owner of it now.”

Ian played a not-so small role in the breakup of Sydney and Dean. He also played a major role in getting them back together. Something tells me if Dean and Sydney had not reconciled, Ian and Sydney would’ve been in that loft.

Actually, correction; Sydney and Ian were already in that loft. I’m pretty sure they had sex. I’m also pretty sure Ian dumped her the moment he got what he wanted.

A sweeping emotion of pure jealousy erupted inside of me, though I kept my composure. That’s what he does – he wants to see how fast he could get into your panties and once he does, he’ll discard you once he’s done.

Yet, for two years…for two painfully long years, Ian never tried to sleep with me. Despite the numerous cuddle sessions…despite the Rolls Kiss…despite all of that, he never once made a move on me.

Ian looked at the sky and rubbed his chin. “I knew it wouldn’t work. We connected on a level that neither one of us has ever had with anyone else.” He began and I tried very hard to keep my tears at bay. “Once things become personal, it’s hard to separate it from professional.” His eyes met mine as he said it. Okay, so his ass was talking about me. Well, fuck you, too, bitch. “Would I have dated her? Probably. Would it have worked out? No.”

“But you’re still going to try with others, aren’t you?” I mentioned. Why do I do this to myself?

Ian briefly glanced down as he contemplated his answer. He knew whatever he said was going to hurt and he carefully chose his words. “Whatever happens in my life, you’ll always benefit from it.”

How in the hell would I benefit from him sleeping with someone who’s not me? How have I benefitted from that the last couple of years? You know what? Fuck it. He just told me I was good enough to accompany him to those boring-ass galas where my real date of Emma was waiting for me.

Ian wants me to get over him, he doesn’t need to tell me twice. “Okay.” I replied. I stood up and straightened out my shirt. I need to go to wash my face, go to bed, and just do whatever the hell I need to do to get the absolute hell away from him now. “I’ll see you later, Ian.”

“Domi?” He called out my name and I stopped walking. “I came over to spend the night with you.”

I turned around to face him. Now I’m full of liquor and my tongue is quicker. “I hate that you think you can waltz into my life like shit never happened between us and I’m supposed open my arms and legs to you like a Snuggie?” I yelled. “Whatever! Bye, Felicia!”

“Domi, I respect you more than any woman in my life, only second to my mother and that’s a pretty high ranking for anyone. I don’t expect to sleep with you but if it happens, well, yes, that would be pretty awesome.” Ian added. “Second, who’s Felicia?”

“It’s a saying…” I gesticulated. “….like have you ever seen Friday?”

“Friday?” Ian shrugged.

“You know, Ice Cube? Chris Tucker?” I looked in his eyes for any validation and it was a blank slate. “Deebo? Big Worm?”

“Now, I recognize the first two but the last ones?” He asked. “Are these peoples’ real names?”


 

Feeling Some Type of Way will be out December 13th.

One thought on “#MidWeekTease: Feeling Some Type of Way COVER REVEAL

Comments are closed.