#TeaserTuesday: Superpower #newadult #contemporary #romance

State of Affairs - large

Blurb:

Every Queen needs a King.

Briana Gooding has a lot on her plate and being a full-time social activist leaves little time for romance. When the NFL’s most controversial quarterback approaches her, she suddenly finds time.

NFL standout Caleb Kelly is known for his exciting plays on the field and his messy personal life that leaves many women thirsty to be a part of his harem. When he decided to take a controversial stance against the National Anthem, he found a strong ally in Briana. It’s only a matter of time before the activists are viewed as the country’s most dangerous couple and harassment ensues.

Senator Jay Edwards and his wife, Sanora, are making big plans for Briana and Caleb and have no qualms being their private support. When their detractors threaten those plans, it’s time to use a deadly reminder to show who’s really in charge.

All is fair in sex, love, and power.

Superpower is the second book in the State of Affairs series. It deals with social justice, activism, political aspirations, and if true love conquers all. It is a New Adult erotic romance.


Unedited Snippet:

He carefully moisturized her locs using a concoction of coconut oil, shea butter, and water. With a rat-tail comb, Caleb helped take down Briana’s locs one by one.

“When was your turning point?” He asked as he combed through one loc.

“My turning point?” She asked.

Caleb concentrated on a single loc, gently combing through it as he spoke. “When you woke up after being asleep,” he clarified, “we all had a turning point.”

Briana thought about her past. For years, she treated racism as isolated incidents, not realizing how widespread and often hidden the problem was. It was no longer a bunch of men wearing hooded white sheets and burning crosses in someone’s front yard. It also meant bank loan denials, stop and frisk, being followed in a store, having ethnic names made fun of, and the list went on. “Two moments,” She stated, “in the same year I read the Autobiography of Malcolm X and that completely changed my outlook.”

“And the second occurrence?” He asked.

“The Oscar Grant acquittal,” she bit the inside of her cheek, “I cried for ten minutes. That’s when I knew there was a problem.”

“Oscar Grant was several years ago,” Caleb continued on the loc. “I was in college when the verdict came out. Me and my Brothers were livid. We staged a protest on campus.”

“You always identified with being Black?” She asked. “I know some biracials like to toe the line and say they’re multicultural and what-not.”

“That’s great We Are the World is their favorite song,” Caleb replied and Briana chuckled, “all I know is people will look past your race first until you do something they don’t like. And then they quickly remind you you’re Black.”

“Ain’t that the truth,” she softly shook her head, “each time we make one step forward, they always make sure we’re really ten steps behind.”

“And they want to be oppressed because they think we have it so easy,” Caleb chuckled, “yeah, because everybody wants to be pulled over all of the time. Everybody wants to be followed in a store, you know?”

“Everybody wants someone to tell them their natural hair is unkempt and so you spend money, hours, and time getting your hair as straight as it can be while burning your scalp from the relaxer chemicals.” Briana recalled.

“And once you do assimilate, they want to receive comments that you’re not Black enough and that you don’t act Black, and you don’t talk Black because they’ve based all of their stereotypes of Black people on you and wonder why you’re not in line with what they know.” Caleb replied. “And if you have an adoptive White family, they’ll wonder what orphanage in Africa did your parents pick you up from.”

“Oh my God,” Briana felt saddened and angry for him, “I’m so sorry, Caleb.”

“It is what it is,” he replied, “you don’t realize how racist it was back then and sometimes I still wonder if it was curiosity or their parents influence.”

“When was your wake-up call?” Briana asked. “What was your turning point?”

Caleb stopped combing through Briana’s hair and thought for a moment before he continued. “Getting detained in a rich neighborhood where my friend lived because the neighbors thought me and my Black friends were about to rob someone’s house. My parents were called to come get me. The officers got the shock of their lives when they saw two White people get out of their sedan to pick me up. That night, my father gave me The Talk.”

“How to act around police?”

“How society is going to treat me,” he further clarified. “He flat-out said ‘I’m your dad and you’re my son but society is going to treat me differently from you because they think I’m safer.’ He went into detail with examples. From that moment on, I never questioned if I was Black.”

“But…” Briana was hesitant to point out the elephant in the room but had to. “…you don’t look it.”

“And that’s the joke,” Caleb pointed out. “Once the Afro came out, then people suddenly remembered.”

“I know I did,” Briana silently gasped and covered her mouth after she realized how bad it sounded, “shoot, I didn’t mean for it to sound that way.”

“No, it’s okay.” Caleb replied. “I know what you meant.”

“Oh yeah?” She challenged him. “What did I mean?”

Caleb leaned over and brushed his lips over Briana’s left earlobe. “If I’m Black everywhere, right?”

There went that sensual undercurrent with a heavy slab of good old fashioned horny. It didn’t help matters Briana was between Caleb’s strong legs and her face wasn’t that far from his crotch. “That could be considered a stereotypical comment, you know?”

“But you wondered if that stereotype was true when it came to me, yes?” He asked. “You don’t got to lie to kick it.”

One thought on “#TeaserTuesday: Superpower #newadult #contemporary #romance

Comments are closed.