#ThursdaySnippet: State of Affairs II

State of Affairs - large

“I sat down because I don’t believe in what the flag stands for. Think about it. The Declaration of Independence was written in 1776. The Star-Spangled Banner was composed in 1814. But the Emancipation Proclamation didn’t happen until 1863. So, who was the independence for? Who was the Star-Spangled Banner written for? Not for me. Not for my ancestors. It doesn’t apply to any minority group here.

“Now, if I lose endorsements and I get hate mail, then it only proves what I did was right and I stood up for what I believe in. I’m not disrespecting the troops. I’m merely invoking my First Amendment right. If everyone else can, why not me?”

Senator Jay Edwards turned off his TV and stared blankly at the dark screen. His Facebook page was full of comments, demanding he say something. His phone rang off the hook all morning. He couldn’t even enjoy watching SportsCenter without the commentators pretending they were fake woke so they could sound intelligent for everyone else.

Jay loved it.

Famed NFL quarterback and reigning Super Bowl champion, Caleb Kelly, made a controversial protest against the American flag. It couldn’t have come at a worst time. It couldn’t have come at a better time.

In the current political climate of the country, it was no surprise the reaction was deeply divided. Other athletes came out to shame Caleb, while many celebrities supported him. What was more astounding was the number of veterans who also had his back.

As Jay’s MO, he always waited until he received more information before making any type of statement. It was why he was admired; he never became extremely angry and jumped in so he could be a trending topic.

Now that Caleb had the nation’s attention, it was time for Jay to make his move. He was pretty sure the star athlete would not say a word to him. Caleb was pretty adamant on how he really felt about anything conservative and Republican based on his IG feed.

It was time to use another approach.

“So, what do you think?” Sanora asked as she walked into the study. She showed her husband Caleb’s speech as she was rather fascinated by it.

Jay revealed a cunning smile. “I think we just found Briana’s soul mate.”


 

State of Affairs II will be out later this month.

2 thoughts on “#ThursdaySnippet: State of Affairs II

Comments are closed.