#SundaySnippet: State of Affairs II

State of Affairs - large

“I’m trying to listen to the advice you two have given me but it’s hard,” Briana argued, “whenever there is a new shooting, I get people questioning why I’m not saying anything. Then I am accused of flip-flopping and not being true to the cause. Some have called me a sell-out and amongst other harsh things.”

“To your face?” Sanora questioned.

“No, never to my face but they do say it.” Briana replied. “But I’ve heard whispers.”

“Good. They’ll keep whispering.” Jay nodded. “No one likes to get punched in the face.”

“You two want me to do something I’ve never done before with very little experience. If people are attacking me now, how am I going to withstand what they’re going to do when I run for office?”

“What do you think is going to come out about you?” Sanora asked. “What is it about you now or in the past that will come back to haunt you?”

“They’re going to call into question Sisters United. They’re already saying it’s a racist and violent, though we know that’s not the truth. Not everyone supports what we’re doing.” Briana’s eyes watered. “The Black men I’m fighting for are calling me all sorts of names. The Black women I’m fighting for is telling me to go get a relaxer and not stay out in the sun so much. I’m being attacked by my own left and right. And if my own is attacking me, how am I supposed to sustain when others do it?”

Jay took a sip of whiskey before he set down the tumbler. He sat back into the plush sofa while Sanora settled into his body. “Truth is, Briana, you and I know a not-so hidden and ugly secret about society – they don’t like Black women. Oh, they love your hairstyles, they love your swag, they love your bodies and plastic surgeons are making a killing off other women who try very hard to emulate you.

“But society doesn’t like you. And furthermore, some of your own sisters don’t like you as well. If you’re doing great, someone will try to bring you down a notch. I call it hate-watching. They watch you just to hate. They need to pick something about you they don’t like because seeing you brings out jealousy, resentment, and insecurity. They don’t like your hairstyle? They’ll pick on that. They don’t like your happy life? They’ll pick on that. They don’t think you’re “all that?” They’ll definitely pick on that. And they keep poking at you until they get your attention.

“The problem with that method is while some weak people succumb to it, the strong keep getting stronger. Meanwhile, those who hate you, despise you, and blacklist you, they keep getting weaker. They don’t understand why you have so much support. They don’t understand why you’re so popular. They don’t understand…you.

“The best way to silence a troll is to ignore them. The best way to get the last laugh at your critics is to be successful and keep rising to the top. We are merely holding the ladder you’re climbing.”

Briana intently listened to what Jay said to her. He spoke a lot of truth and Briana soaked it up like a sponge. “What should I do?”

“Don’t respond to negativity. Eventually the trolls will make themselves look foolish and will seclude themselves.” Sanora sipped her wine. “What God ordains for you, no one can take away. When they go low, we will go high.”

Sanora’s and Jay’s confidence was infectious. Briana felt she could move mountains. “You really think I could be President?”

Jay and Sanora didn’t miss a beat. “Yes.”


 

State of Affairs II will be out sometime in September.

To purchase the first book exclusively on Amazon (Kindle Unlimited subscribers read FREE), click here.
To sign up for Kindle Unlimited, click here:

Join Amazon Kindle Unlimited 30-Day Free Trial