So About The Dude Named Scott…

Courtney P.,
You asked a while back (I just saw the notification so I apologize for responding late), on who was my muse for Scott Reed? Scott is a combination of a lot of people I know. His hobbies remind me of one guy, his fitness dedication remind me of another, his insane work ethic remind me of someone else.
So, there isn’t just one muse for him. He’s a personality-driven character and what I mean by that is I’m more focused on his character development and how he responds as oppose to how he looks.
There was a model who I felt looked very close to what I think he looks like in my mind. However, Scott Reed is one of those characters where anyone can portray him.
Scott Reed is an interesting character because this is a man, a very White one, who loves and appreciates Black culture, loves Black women, and is very aware of his Whiteness (if that’s a term).
So, he’s not trying to be Black (and he doesn’t want to be). Scott does use his privilege to his advantage and help others. He speaks AAVE when he’s around certain people (you may have noticed he spoke quite a bit of it in The Ex-Factor). He knows when to turn it on and turn it off. It will be interesting to see how Scott acts around his White girlfriend in S&M IV, Part 2.
I can honestly say Scott Reed is one of my wokest and feminist characters. The others being Nick D’Amato and Senator Jay Edwards.
I mentioned a while back how Michael Fassbender was my muse because I saw him in the Steve Jobs movie and thought, ‘Wow, he could make an amazing Scott!’ Of course, Joe Manganiello’s body is always an inspiration.
In Discipline, during the Halloween bar scene, a patron asked Scott if he dressed as Patrick Bateman (American Psycho). That kinda gives you an idea of how I saw him at the time.
americanpsycho
Again, Scott Reed is pretty fluid so I always encourage the reader to visualize who they think will fit him best.
In terms of his accent, Matthew McConaughey was a muse. It sounds a little lazy, laid-back, until you actually listen to what Scott says and you’re like, ‘Oh, he means business.’
Imagine that Southern accent in your ear as you two are…well, you know.

Scott & Mariana suggested reading order:
I
II
Discipline
III, Vol. 1
III, Vol. 2
IV, Part 1
I Need You
(IV, Part 2)
The Ex-Factor
If anyone has any other S&M-related questions hit me up on here or shoot me an email. I’m happy to respond. 🙂

2 thoughts on “So About The Dude Named Scott…

Comments are closed.