#SundaySnippet: Scoring Chance (Breakaway V) #newadult #contemporary #romance

photo-1446597152631-22e3f57785ea

“Can you pull over?” She asked.

“Is everything okay?” He glanced over.

“Just pull over,” she shook her head.

“Okay,” Dean signaled right and pulled over on the side of the road. He watched Sydney unbuckle and get out of her seat. He turned off the truck and followed suit. “What’s up?”

Sydney felt her heart pound through her chest. She shook out her hands because the stress tightened the limbs. She spoke so fast, she competed with Mellie from Scandal. “I had sex with Ian when we broke up. It was just sex and he was the one that encouraged us to get back together. He’s going to be my manager but I swear nothing else will ever happen between us. I just wanted to get this off my chest because you’re talking about us having a new start, and you just played one of my all-time favorite Prince songs, and I started thinking about us having babies and you’re teaching our son, Bobby, how to play hockey. And I’m teaching our daughter, Betty, how to paint. And we live back in your big ol’ beach house and we go to the ocean during the weekends, and we have cookouts with my family, because Black people do cookouts and not BBQs, and I just was thinking about our future and I needed to get everything off my chest so we can have one!” She finally exhaled a deep breath.

Dean blinked at his ex-girlfriend as he processed what she just revealed. He only had one question, “Bobby and Betty?”


 

I’m not really a fan of those names either, Syd.

Scoring Chance (Breakaway V) will be out the week of September 1st.

7 thoughts on “#SundaySnippet: Scoring Chance (Breakaway V) #newadult #contemporary #romance

  1. Musings IRJ says:

    LOLOL…Black people do cookouts, not BBQs…WORD!

    For real though, how he miss the I had sex with Ian part? I know there’s more to it than that, but that would’ve been the first thing my mind picked up. But I feel Dean on those names…nope!

    • veraroberts says:

      Me thinks Dean already knew; he was just waiting for Syd to say something. I don’t think it’ll change the way he ultimately feels about her. It wasn’t like he was chaste during their breakup.

Comments are closed.