#SnippetSunday: Beauty is Her Name #romance #newadult #wattpad

Beauty Is Her Name - medium

“…and real quick, let me give a shoutout to my girl, Beauty! Keep your head up, baby girl! You got this, aight? You got this! The whole world is praying for you!”

“….I just spoke with a representative of the Whalen family and she told me Bobby and Samantha are in good spirits despite the prognosis of Beauty. They hope she’ll wake up soon. They thank everyone around the world for their continued prayers and support…”

“…we just want to say we love you to Beauty! She’s one of our best friends and biggest supporters! When we first arrived on the scene, she wrote to us, and gave us the encouragement we needed to keep going. She really is beautiful….”

It had been a long and excruciating week for the Whalen family.

As Bobby and Samantha kept vigil at their daughter’s bedside at home, an investigation was launched by the LAPD regarding Beauty’s illness. All of the alcohol was tested, the servers’ backgrounds were checked, footage was reviewed numerous times.

Everything and everyone checked out.

Numerous tests came back clean and Beauty had no underlying illnesses. She was in perfect health.

Bobby walked into the room, kissed his wife’s temple, and rubbed her back. A commanding figure with dark hair, a matching soul patch, and muscular build, Bobby was used to getting everything his way. If he wanted something, he had it. If Beauty or Samantha desired anything, he moved mountains to make sure they had it.

Now all he wanted was for his only child to recover and it was something he wasn’t sure he could have.

“You need your rest, Sam,” his deep voice reverberated throughout the room, “you’ve been up all night.”

Samantha grabbed Bobby’s hand and kissed it. “I keep hoping this is a nightmare, you know? Like I’m going to wake up and find out this was just a cruel joke. And each time I wake up, it’s just one more reminder I can do something my baby girl can’t do right now.”

Bobby silently nodded. To say he didn’t feel the same way was an outright lie. “You need your rest, Sam. She’s depending on you.”

“I’ll go to sleep,” Samantha conceded and got up. “Wake me if there’s any change.”

Bobby gave his wife a sensual kiss and held her for a long time. “We’ve been through so much and we’ll get through this.”

“I hope so,” Samantha sniffled as she wiped a small tear. “I just don’t know what I would do without her.”

Bobby pulled away and thumbed Samantha’s tears away. “Hey, don’t think that. We’re going to find a cure for our baby girl and she’ll get better.”

“Promise?” She faintly smiled.

Bobby gave a small sigh. It was a useless promise and they both knew it. But they needed something to keep going. “Promise.” He kissed her again. “Now go. Get some rest.”

Samantha walked to her bedroom and sat down on the bed. She had a flurry of text messages but disregarded them as she held Beauty’s phone. The locked screen showed an old image of all of them together as they celebrated Beauty’s third birthday. Her daughter was so full of life and carefree even as a child and she didn’t change very much when she became an adult.

She just wanted her baby girl to be okay again.

A notification went off on Beauty’s phone and Samantha opened it. It was an e-mail from her mysterious pen pal.

From: ASwaggaCalledP

To: SlayingBeauty

Subject: (No Subject)

Hey B,

I don’t know why I’m writing this. I don’t know you’ll even get this. I don’t know if you’ll able to understand this even if you do get it.

I’m losing my mind here. I’ve followed every news story about you. I’ve watched Entertainment Tonight, TMZ, Access Hollywood, and all those girly talk shows to get some sort of update on you. No one knows anything. It’s like you fainted and fell asleep. No one can understand it. Some have even coined you “Sleeping Beauty” because that’s what you’re doing; just asleep.

I am glad you’re not sick or otherwise ill. I just wish there was something I can do to help you and your family. Your parents seem like really good people who only want the best for you. Despite their wealth and status, they seem really humble. I see where you get it from.

Anyway, this is probably too long. Geez, I’m talking to you as if you’re still here. Well, you are but you know what I mean.

I guess this isn’t the appropriate time to tell you how much you mean to me and how much I love you. Yeah, I know saying I love you was supposed to be romantic and like in the movies but this will have to do for now. I hope I can tell you I love you in person.

Please wake up,

Prince

Samantha read the e-mail twice. She walked back into Beauty’s room and found Bobby holding their daughter’s hand. “Baby, there’s something you need to take a look at.”


 

To read the rest of Beauty is Her Name, click here.