Part 2.

sm4

She hated how well he could read her. She particularly hated how sexy his cologne was as it was wafted up to her nostrils. She could smell the sex on him. Still, Mariana held her stance. “You don’t get it.”

“Oh, I think I do get it.” He moved closer to her. He was only inches away from her now. “The problem is you don’t want me to get it because it’ll make your fight and justification easier. You can say, ‘A-ha! I knew you wouldn’t understand and you made my point.’ You weren’t expecting me to agree with your stance and not fight you at all.”

Mariana stared into his eyes. They’d soften to a light green while a smile formed on Scott’s lips. She resisted the urge to kiss him, though she silently begged him to do it to her. “Now what?”

He tightly grasped her arms and immediately regretted doing so. He’d missed her warm and lithe body underneath and on top of his. He’d missed the smell of her body lotion, which he could smell right before him. Her favorite scent was Sweet Pea, in no coincidence to her stuffed animal.

He was destined to be alone, he’d silently determined. There were numerous opportunities for them to reconcile and yet the timing was never right. If the conversation was different, Scott probably would’ve had Mariana bent over his desk before he took out on a shopping spree like he’d done many times in the past. The conversation was different with a heartbreaking resolution.

He didn’t wonder who was influencing his ex. He wondered the why. “If you want me to leave you alone, I’ll leave you alone. There’s nothing more I can about what’s happening in the society and what’s happening between…” He paused, searching for the right word. Scott wanted to say us but he knew there were no us when it came to Mariana. It was just her and him. He wondered if there would ever be a resolution between them. “…you and whatever fight you’re participating in. This is your battle and I’m happy to step out of the way so you can do it.”

Mariana swallowed her emotions. Scott Reed was an anomaly. She knew he’d paid full ride scholarships for several black teens to any college they’d wanted to go to and found out that information from Bella. He’d donated thousands of dollars in the Hurricane Katrina relief efforts and was a silent partner in Jeff’s various businesses around L.A.

Scott loved black culture, but most importantly, he loved black people as it evident by how much he treated Jeff’s children like they were his own.

Behind the Henny drinking, soul food eating, R&B music listening, and black women loving persona he put out, was someone who really wanted to make a change in the world. Mariana briefly wondered if giving him up was a mistake. “Thank you,” was all she could muster.

“You’re welcome.” He reluctantly let her go and watched her leave. He could never get over how her ass jiggled just right. “Mari,” she turned around and faced him, “a bit of advice?”

“Yes?”

“Don’t become so woke that you’re sleep-deprived and delusional. Your heart doesn’t care about race, sex, or gender. Neither should you.”


 

To read the other half of this excerpt, click here.

Details on Part 2 will come out eventually. I’ll probably release more snippets here and there.

6 thoughts on “Part 2.

  1. Musings IRJ says:

    Lawd I need this book like yesterday! Don’t be so woke that you’re sleep-deprived and delusional. I am so stealing that! Cause there are a lot of sleep-deprived “woke” folk out here!

    • veraroberts says:

      There is this one celebrity, I’ll probably tell you her name in private because I don’t want anyone to take my criticism of her as I’m publicly bashing her, who I finally understand the term ‘fake deep.’ She fights everyone’s battle – misogyny, white supremacy, transgenderism, LGBT, diversity, black lives matter, etc. And while I applaud her for being so passionate, I wonder if the same people she’s fighting for, would they fight for her? She’s a black woman so that’s why I’m hesitant to ‘go in’ because I do appreciate the work she does, but a part of me is like, ‘Hmm…me thinks the lady doth protest too much.’

  2. stephaniejynelle says:

    Well then. There it is. They love each other so much but seem to let other things, people and hurt get in the way. I understood why Scott pushed away, I just don’t like how he did it. They will get there. Every journey has a purpose. They have to get out of their own way. Thanks Vera.

    • veraroberts says:

      The issue about this couple in particular is there are so many issues and complexities, and they need to be explored. In this day and age, especially with so many current issues happening, I wouldn’t do this series justice if I didn’t have this in here.

Comments are closed.