#FlashFiction Friday: I Knew You Were Trouble #newadult #romance #kindle

Blurb: 

Rekindling the flame or just keeping each other company?

When Julian Rodriguez has to stay behind and attend to business matters, Kara McCrae offers him to spend Christmas Eve and Christmas with her and her family. Julian returns the favor by requesting her presence as he visits New York to see his family. While they pair have told their families their relationship is just platonic, no one quite buys what the music pair is selling.

Will the former lovers finally get past their issues and rekindle their romance? Or will it be business as usual?

I Knew You Were Trouble is a New Adult romance that deals with second chances and renewed love.


 

Unedited Snippet

Kara

 

Working for your ex really sucks.

There’s no nice way to say it. It just does. I must be a masochist because there’s no way I would be working for him and think there’s nothing wrong with it. There’s everything wrong with it.

We had a relationship that wasn’t supposed to be. He had age and years of experience on me. He could have any woman he wanted and trust me, he has. But for some reason, I was a challenge to him. I honestly thought he would never be interested in me in a romantic way. What does a 25-year-old music executive want with a 20-year-old college junior? Apparently, everything.

He was different. I’m sure every girl says that about the man she loves but it’s true. Julian had no issue listening to a Taylor Swift record with the same ease he would listen to a John Coltrane album. He was a Sci-Fi nerd and in turn, I became one as well. Julian was everything I thought I knew. He was everything the romance books say I should avoid at all costs. What is it with girls chasing the bad boys? Haven’t we learned we’ll only get hurt?

He didn’t try very hard to impress me. Hell, he didn’t have to try at all. One of my favorite memories of us was going to Las Vegas and eating at the local McDonald’s instead of hitting the hotel buffet. We spent the evening sharing fries and McNuggets as we talked about nonsensical things.

We did the silly little things couples do – we followed each other’s social pages, tagging each other in pictures, sometimes openly declaring our love but not in an obnoxious way like some other couples do (you know who I’m talking about).

He took me to movie premieres, award shows, and industry functions. If I needed a gown, he made sure one was custom made for me with matching shoes and jewelry. He paid one of my favorite singers to serenade me on Valentine’s Day because he was overseeing a video shoot and couldn’t get away.

I decided early on in our relationship, I was going to give my V-card to him. No, not a Valentine’s; my virginity. My notorious V.A.G. I only hoped he wasn’t like some of the rappers on the label that loved to proclaim how much they loved to beat up the box. Ouch. My vajayjay is not a punching bag.

Julian took his time and gently loved me, though it was the most excruciating thing I’d ever experienced. From then, it just became better and we explored more. Turns out, I had a little bit of an inner freak inside of me.

Our relationship was beautiful. It was magical. Julian was the best thing that has ever happened to me.

And then it happened. I lost the baby. And when I lost the baby, I lost us as well.

Julian told me he worked more to not think about the loss and to focus on business. While he did that, he focused less on us, to the point we were strangers sharing a bed at night. We might as well have been roommates.

And it just disintegrated from there. It was like I never knew him and he never knew me. Maybe, we never really knew each other.

When my internship was up, I was offered a position at NCE and for the life of me, I’m still questioning my sanity as to why I took it. Great pay? Sure. Access to the hottest artists before they make their worldwide debut? You got it. But now, Julian is my official boss. I have to sit in on meetings with him. His office is in direct eyesight from my cubicle. When he heads to his office, he’ll pass by my desk. It’s unbearable.

So I need to correct my first statement – working for your ex doesn’t suck. Working for your ex that you’re still in love with and who doesn’t love you back? Yeah…that fucking sucks.


 

The release date for I Knew You Were Trouble TBA soon.