FlashbackFriday: S&M III #nook #kindle #fiction #ebook

sm3-2c

While the women were out on the town, the men gathered in one of the high-stakes poker rooms at the Wynn. Paul, Dave, Jeff, and Scott made themselves comfortable at the poker table. “Just keep the liquor and the food coming and the bitches at bay.” Paul instructed to the waitress. “Now go on.”

The dealer shuffled the cards and dealt them to the men. “Minimum bet is twenty-five thousand. Small blind is ten thousand while the big blind is fifteen.”

“Pennies,” Paul snickered. “I think that’s your yearly allowance isn’t it, Jeff?”

“Whatever, asshole,” Jeff sipped his bourbon, “Maintaining your pool costs about the same as my fish tank.”

“So what’s going on with you, man?” Dave asked Scott. “How is everything?”

“Everything is pretty much what it is,” Scott looked at his hand, then folded. “Great woman, great career. Can’t complain.”

“I heard the Great Disaster is back in town,” Paul placed his bet.

Scott looked over at Jeff, who apologetically shrugged. “Word gets around.” Jeff smiled.

“We all know what’s going on here,” Dave placed his bet. “How do you feel about it?”

Scott was oblivious. “How do I feel about what?”

“Scott, let’s not play stupid,” Dave replied. “You know why she’s back. What are you going to do about it?”

“I’m hoping she will go away on her own, honestly.” It would make his life much easier.

“You know she won’t,” Dave replied. “She’s here for a reason.”

There were several reasons why Caprina was back in Scott’s life, and it still bothered him to think she had so much control over him. “Well, there’s nothing I can do about it,” Scott sipped his whiskey. “I can’t do anything about it until she does her campaign and then leaves.”

“Do you still love her?” Jeff asked.

Scott shot his best friend a disbelieving stare. “I know you’re joking.”

“It’s a legitimate question. I saw how you were when you two were together,” Jeff commented. “Like a sick puppy on a leash.”

“That was eight years ago.”

“Defensive, are we?” Paul prodded with a sly smile.

“I’m about to become engaged for your information,” Scott declared, “I’m just waiting for the right moment.”

“The right moment?” Jeff asked. “You bought that ring weeks ago!”

“So what’s taking you so long, man?” Dave asked.

“Okay, are we playing poker or are we gossiping like bunch of old hens at a tea party?” Scott asked.

“Oh, your personal life is more interesting than this shit right here,” Paul commented.

Scott rolled his eyes. “What’s taking me so long for what?”

“To propose? If you got the ring, it should’ve been done.” Dave commented.

“I’m just waiting for the right time, that’s all,” Scott justified. “It’s not the right time yet.”

“It’ll be the right time when it’s too late,” Paul waxed poetic.

Out of Scott’s friends, Paul was the most vocal about remaining single and never getting married. He was thirty-six, and often said girlfriends were expensive. “Are you really giving me advice?” Scott asked.

“I’m just saying. The longer you wait for the right moment, the worst it could be. A woman will only tolerate a man’s bullshit for a small window of time.” Paul commented.

“Paul has a point,” Dave agreed.

“Asshole, that was for you, too.” Paul implied.

“I just have to make sure Mariana is the one I want to be with.” Scott placed his bet. “That’s all it is. Nothing more, nothing less.”

“That’s not it,” Paul prodded.

“Okay, I’ll bite,” Scott put down his cards.

“You don’t trust her,” Paul lit a cigar. “It’s pretty obvious.”

“Get the fuck out of here,” Scott dismissed his friend.

“Oh?” Paul asked. “You proposed to the Great Disaster in just a few months. Where’s Mariana’s ring?”

“So because I’m taking my time on Mari, I don’t trust her?” Scott asked. “Is that the new logic?”

“Does Mari know how much you’re worth?” Dave asked.

Scott looked around the room and saw six eyes staring back at him. “All right, let’s play.”

“Whoa, whoa, whoa…” Jeff interrupted. “You didn’t tell your girl how much you’re worth?”

“Do you plan on dropping that little tidbit to her anytime soon?” Paul asked.

“She knows,” Scott defended. He felt like he was in front of a firing squad. “She knows.”

“Scott, I saw the look on her face when you gave her that money,” Dave interjected. “She doesn’t know.”

“Why does she need to know? What purpose could that serve her?” Scott asked.

Jeff smiled. “So let me get this straight. You trust your girl enough to marry her, but you don’t trust her enough to let her know how much you’re worth?”

“You still didn’t answer me: why she would need to know how much money I’m worth?” Scott asked.

“I don’t know…” Paul began. “Maybe it’s a part of that commitment, communication, and honesty bullshit you married fools like to agree on so damn much, so I thought it would be true.”

****

S&M IV will be released on May 15th.

(So interesting…hardly anyone commented about the post yesterday. I guess it’s safe to say if Scott cheated on Mariana, you would forgive him before she did.

beyond-scared-straight

Interesting to say the least…)