Back from the brink…

Fire We Make - Vera Roberts

Available now! Amazon, Barnes & Noble, All Romance, and Smashwords!

Well, not really. I’ve been around, just in a different environment.

Let me say Happy New Year! I hope you had a fabulous and great one. I had a good one. We went for Japanese noodles and celebrated with 50,000 of L.A.’s finest. That was a lot of fun.

So what I have been up to these past couple of months? Well, writing. I took the advice of many and went on a break. A few of my close friends told me I was overworked and after confirming with several others, they were right. I think new motherhood in conjunction of putting out books really did a number on me. So I took a break.

And went back to basics.

I got my start on fanfiction and still have an account there. So I posted a brand-new story over there that was originally intended to be next paid release. I needed to go back to where it all started and see if I still had that magic and spark. And something wonderful happened – I fell back in love with writing.

Of course, some changes had to be made first.

I probably won’t post future snippets of stories on the Facebook public page but direct people to the tumblr blog if they are interested in reading a new story. In terms of this blog, it’ll still be around, when I want to post something pretty naughty.

Some of you are probably wondering…’Um, yeah…that’s nice and all but what about [insert X story]?’

Well, I’m a woman of my word.

To those who I promised free before-it’s-released copies of S&M IV or Love and War, I’m holding to that. Expect your books within the next few months. I still have your e-mails so I know which readers they are. It’s a very small handful, like at the very most 10, and these are people I spoke with a while back.

In other news, I finished a long-awaited screenplay and I’m currently shopping it around, entering it in different competitions. Very exciting! I never saw myself as just being an author, but more of a writer. I didn’t want to be just limited to a niche, but reach a broader audience. And it’s working. 🙂 I’ve received some awesome feedback on the screenplay and have a great group of people supporting me. The ‘break’ I took, really wasn’t a break in the tradition sense since I was still working in a different medium.

Most importantly, I’m the happiest I’ve been in years.

That’s pretty much it in a nutshell. I hope everyone is doing wonderful.

And there you have it,

-V.

6 thoughts on “Back from the brink…

  1. stephaniejynelle says:

    Way to go Ms. Vera! I just finish Fire with me and loved it. I like Liane and Jackson. Love doesn’t always follow our own thoughts and beliefs. I actually like the messiness and struggles. I believe that they love one another. Enzo and Angel fit in a different way. So loved Liane’s impromptu pole lesson. Thanks for giving me the fix I needed.

  2. kurltrn65 says:

    Good, good for you!! I’m glad you got away and recharged yourself. Parenthood is hard if your children are young or old and trying to add something else to the mix can be exhausting. Glad you are back and I look forward to hearing from you soon. Take care of yourself.

  3. Renee Kelley says:

    Happy that you’re back Vera. And please remember me for S&M. I asked awhile back…can’t we say self much:). I wish you luck with your writing and screen play. My writing has slowed down and I’m having a hard time getting back to writing every day. I hope to get back to where I was at before.

  4. stephaniejynelle says:

    Good for you Vera. You have been in my thoughts often. I am excited for you and your screen play. I think that is awesome. I do miss you but totally understand the break and direction change.

Comments are closed.