Behind the Pen: Anticipation and Taking It Back…

Back to the Basics: Behind the Pen – Author Edition

I have a series of short stories coming out soon, along with two major novels. For one of the projects, I decided to go back to basics…

When I first started writing the S&M series, it was just me and my imagination. It eventually grew to several beta readers and two editors. I decided, however, for the latest installments, to go back to where it all originally started.

Just me. And one of my editors.

It was nice, for a change. No pressure. Not a lot of voices telling me where I needed to take the story. It was…a breath of fresh air.

For the past couple of years, I’ve struggled with the S&M series. Not necessarily writing it but getting excited about writing it. Each time I did get excited about writing the story, I would share my enthusiasm, which I have learned now, was a mistake. Immediately I was flooded with what I should do, what needs to happen, what should’ve happened, etc. The voices became loud and quite unbearable to hear.

And if it weren’t the suggestions, it was trickery. I even had one reader, who I’ll call Basic Bitch, tell me how poorly written To Love and Obey was just so I could hurry up and finish S&M IV and she even sent me suggestions on what I should do. (Facts: S&M 1 and 2 weren’t edited at all, To Love and Obey has outsold the entire S&M series, and S&M IV was originally supposed to come out spring 2013. For all, this is a good lesson – one bad apple really does spoil the bunch.)

So I decided to go back to basics. All Vera. All alone.

It was nice. I was under no pressure and no one other than my husband and my editor knew what I was doing. It was just plain and simple. My thoughts, my imagination, and music was really all I needed to write a good story.

Oh, actually I had two other people – my real-life Zerrin and Stacey, who are a part of my beta-read team. They’re also my fact-checkers.

There’s no purpose for this post other than that. I thought it was something interesting so I decided to share. 🙂

Anticipation is out NOW.

Anticipation Web

One thought on “Behind the Pen: Anticipation and Taking It Back…

  1. stephaniejynelle says:

    No one does you better than you Ms. Vera. I have you as one of my top three favorites because of how you write original and interesting things that don’t always fall in the expected category. It is all good.

Comments are closed.