Sneak Peek: WIWB Sequel

whereiwannabe-largeFor the past couple of months, I’ve debated which direction I wanted to go in with Where I Wanna Be and I know there were at least four different directions. Yeah, four. One was a bit outlandish and although I could’ve made it believable, I decided not to do that one. The second one was emotionally heavy and I thought, ‘Now how much emotional energy am I willing to spend on this after just completing two books?’, so I decided not to do that one. The third one, was going to be a combination of Ideas #1 and #2, and I thought, ‘Hmm…I think we officially hit soap opera land if I did that.’ 

But Idea #4, though, that was the one that kept sticking out. As always, I decided I would let my muses tell me how to proceed. So I waited and waited and waited. Sometimes the muse will tell me immediately and sometimes it takes a while. 

Over the last couple of days, one scene stood out like a blaring red alarm and it just kept going on and on and on until I finally realized, bingo…that’s my direction. 

I dedicate this scene to all of those who thought they knew the ending and could ‘predict’ the sequel. *smile*

*****

“You’re nervous.” Simone noticed. “Why?”

“I’m not entirely comfortable now.” Eli admitted. “I’m wondering what this is about, to be quite honest.”

“I wanted us to get together and catch up with each other.” Simone circled her wine glass. “It’s been a while.”

Eli thought about Faith and her possible reaction to his dinner get-together with his ex, if he wanted to share that information. They were in a good place in their marriage, after struggled for years with his infidelity and her trust issues.

Eli silently admitted he would always have some type of feelings towards his ex-girlfriend, due to their history, but nothing else. He could also admit he wouldn’t risk giving up Faith again just to have one last tryst with Simone or anyone else for that matter. It was a lesson he had learned and would never forget in his lifetime.

He studied his ex’s eyes, trying to get a glimpse of what she was thinking. A part of them were hopeful. A part of them, he couldn’t quite read.  What he could read were the vibes he was getting from her and it made him uncomfortable. “Moni…” He murmured. “What’s this about?”

Simone reached into her purse and pulled out her wallet. She retrieved a photo and slid it across the table to her ex-boyfriend. “Her name is Elena.”

Eli glanced down at the photo. A biracial girl with curly hair and light eyes. “She’s beautiful.”

“She’s yours.” Simone stated.

Eli studied the photo carefully as a range of emotions coursed through his body. After a short while, his body settled on one emotion that was loud and clear – anger. “Bullshit.”

****

The untitled sequel to Where I Wanna Be. Winter 2013-14. 

5 thoughts on “Sneak Peek: WIWB Sequel

  1. nicolewren says:

    It kills me that Eli is still hiding issh from Faith. Meeting Simone behind her back, bullshit is an apt description. Faith deserves to act an ass over this issh!!

  2. Victoria M Gaskins says:

    Eli final got the balls to fight for his family. Simone watch out cause you cannot play with Eli’ s emotions anymore. He better tell Faith or she is going to beat the both of you.

Comments are closed.