To be great is to be misunderstood…

whereiwannabe-large

Brownie points if you know you said that quote.

The one thing I love about being a writer is making people feel all sorts of emotion, whether good or bad. I honestly feel that if I could create dialogue, I’ve done my job. Well, I was successful in creating dialogue but I think I was equally successful in creating ambiguity, which was by accident.

I’ll announce the winners of the free giveaway later on today on the Facebook page but let’s clear up a couple of things re Where I Wanna Be since there seems to be so much confusion:

1. Simone and Eli decided cut off ties, which leads to…
2. The relationship (not affair) doesn’t continue. So one could easily say…
3. Eli doesn’t know about Simone’s secret. And that’s because…
4. Simone left New York.

Please re-read the epilogue. Why does Simone mention two, and not three, of Eli’s children? If she knew about two, one would assume she would know about the third one, yes? Except the third one wasn’t mentioned. Why was that?

Again, I’m available for discussions in any book club that wants to host me. I’ll be hosting my private chat exclusive only to the Wine Club members in a few weeks. I am a little surprised that so many are drawing conclusions without asking the author for clarification. If Where I Wanna Be really made you upset, wait until you see what I have in store for the sequel later this year. Oh yes, there’s a part two. 🙂

Now this is the part for those who understood the book…

For those who left positive reviews on one of the sites you have purchased the book from, and have supported me, you will be rewarded with either your choice of S&M IV, which is out February 2014 or the untitled sequel to Where I Wanna Be, which will be out later this year. Just e-mail me at eroticamistress@gmail.com with your details and choice of book. That is my way of saying thank you for all of your support! 🙂

Where I Wanna Be is available on Amazon, All Romance, and Barnes & Noble.

And one last quote for the day:

To be great, you have to be willing to be mocked, hated, and misunderstood.

And there you have it,

-V.

33 thoughts on “To be great is to be misunderstood…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Let me start off by saying that this book was extremely well written and I think that you got your point across well. I liked how each of the three main characters got their own portion of the book so that we could see their back stories, feelings on certain topics, and how each relationship was formed. The novel was well promoted and I knew exactly what I was getting into before I even cracked open the cover (or rather swiped my finger on my iPad). Or so I thought. What I didn’t expect was to end up almost rooting for Simone and Eli’s relationship. And I say this in both a good and bad way.

    From the start of the novel, I felt the chemistry hard with Simone and Eli. You took the time to flesh out the feelings of first love, what happens when those two people lose their virginities, and the unfortunate fallout when teen love doesn’t quite work out. That same chemistry was still in full throttle when Simone and Eli meet again years later. Almost too much and that would’ve been fine had Eli not decided to reconcile with his wife at the end of the novel. I actually like Simone as a character. Some are calling her a home wrecker, but I didn’t see her that way. She tried, although not with her whole being, to avoid Eli and didn’t take that step with him until he left. Now did she flirt shamelessly, sure. Did she get in a few kisses,(and on Faith’s birthday, shame on Eli) sure. But to me, the majority of the blame was on Eli and his selfishness. Which brings to my main issue with the novel.

    I don’t feel like the love story between Faith and Eli garnered as much attention or feelings as with his and Simone’s. It was like, Eli saw Faith, feel in love, had sex with her, then it was fast forwarded and I was left feeling almost jipped as to how their relationship got to the stage it was. Personally I don’t feel like he loved Faith nearly as much as he lusted after/wanted Simone. And again, that wouldn’t have been a problem had he not ended up going home. Also I was a little confused as to why both Faith and Eli were so confused as to where their relationship was going. Both said divorce wasn’t an option, to the point of not even bringing it up, but both said that they didn’t know if they wanted to be together. If not divorce then what, permanent separation? On the flip side, I liked that you didn’t make their feelings so black and white. I know, I’m kinda wishy washy.

    I hope in the next novel we get some more Faith and Eli time because I do like them as a couple and although I thought Eli was a selfish pig( sleeping with Simone one last time after dedicding to remain with his wife, really?) I was relatively happy that he decided to give his relationship a chance and had some sort of epiphany( although I’m not positive if it was fueled by love or jealousy and his annoyance with Simone constantly nagging.) Faith’s trust is obviously going to tested with the revelation of Elena’s existence because it’s clear Eli will not turn his back on his child. I trust in your abilities as an author and as an artist to make the next novel just as interesting as its predecessor.

    P.S I saw in one of your others responses that there was a cut scene with Eli and Faith talking about Simone showing up at Faith’s place of business. Let me just say, if you were to happen to do an interludes of sorts (something similar to what Ms. Frierson did with her novel Trolling Nights) of missing moments between Eli and Faith, I will be the first in line to buy it.

  2. Serita says:

    I enjoyed this book, it was an emotional read. Yes, it makes you think about what you would do in this situation. I have to say I was very upset with Eli, but glad he realized the grass was not greener on the other side. That’s the problem with men when they cheat, they look for the out to do it, thinking they are missing something. Glad Faith and Eli are working on their marriage. My question is how do I join your book club for discussion this week? I would love to join. Looking forward to book 2

    Thanks!

    • veraroberts says:

      Thank you for the love!

      It was a topic that needed to be told and I don’t care what the detractors/haters have to say, it’s a romance. It’s a book I’m sticking to and I’m proud of. Like I’ve said before, infidelity is often romanticized in the media (Scandal, Angelina/Brad Pitt, even Blake Sheldon/Miranda Lambert) but no one ever talks about the aftermath. No one ever talks about how the wife felt, how the husband felt, how the children felt. Where I Wanna Be talks deals with the aftermath.

      Add me as a friend on FB and I’ll add you to the group. It’s a great group! We don’t just talk about books. 🙂

  3. kizzy hartsfield says:

    Hello Mrs Roberts i loved loved the book.I love Faith and Eli.I cried when he walked out on here. felt like it was me.hahahaha silly i know.I hope in book 2 Eli and Faith stay together, because i cant read book 2 if they will end up divorcing and he goes back to Simone.I was not offened my the cheating. because we all know it happens in real life. of cause i was pissed. but happy he went back to his wife and child. Simone did meant to get preggers.I also think Eli and Faith had the chemistry and history Eli and simone didnt have…I like Darren because he gave Eli a run for his money.And i kinda wish that Darren and faith could of had a nice run and make Eli crazy with Jealousy. I think Faith took him back to easily.But Darren wasnt the man for faith any ways cos he was kinda coke head and playa.I really dont care what struggles Eli and Faith have to go through. i just want them to stay together in book 2 and fight for their marriage.And i dont trust simones ass. she had an agenda.She said she tried to stay way from Eli. oh really not hard enough.I love the other brother. They are funny. you so make these characters believable.Looking forward to more ELI and FAITH in book 2

    • veraroberts says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the book!

      They definitely do stay together. When Faith says divorce wasn’t an option, she meant it. There will be an issue of Elena in the next book and I’m not sure what direction I’m going in yet (it’s one of four options right now). Simone does have an agenda, definitely. She’ll never step foot back into New York and she knows if Eli wants to see her daughter (notice the pronoun I used), he would have to fly to Houston. Eli is a hands-on dad, so if he flies to Houston, he won’t be staying for a weekend; he’ll be there for several days. He’ll also be spending time at Simone’s house because that’s where Elena is. Eventually, Elena will want to meet her siblings so the boys will come with Eli on one of those trips. So you can imagine what Faith is feeling when she makes that realization. It’ll really test their union.

      I did contemplate making Faith and Darren a couple but I also had to make it a bit realistic. Faith was still in love with Eli and at the time of their separation, they were getting along better so both of them were thinking of reconciliation, though they never vocalized it. Had Eli stayed with Simone, Faith definitely would’ve been Darren’s girlfriend and there would’ve been a permanent split.

      What separates Eli/Faith from the other brothers is that they’re young in both age and maturity. Mary J. Blige’s “Hood Love” song comes to mind when I think of Eli/Faith. They’ll have these knock-down, drag-out fights but they both know they’re not going anywhere. I think with Eli, he just wanted to taste Simone but keep Faith. I don’t think he ever considered Simone to be his girlfriend, despite they were in a relationship. One would think there was a part of Eli that wondered what happened with Simone; even though he was very selfish in his actions, he also wanted to get Simone out of his system. I likened it to his high school dick was making decisions instead of his grown-ass brain.

  4. Honeebee84 says:

    I have read all your books and immediately brought this one too. At first I was a little disappointed because the husband was a cheater but then as I kept reading I began to understand everyone’s point of view. Yes, Eli was selfish, yes Faith could be bratty and Simone should have known better but at the end of the day the point of art is to open up a dialogue and to make you question the beliefs you had. Keep up the great work Miss Vera and I can’t wait for part 2!

    • veraroberts says:

      You’re welcome!

      The point of the book is to make you wonder what you would and how you would act. If your husband, the only man you have ever loved, suddenly left you, what would you do? Instant divorce isn’t always an option nor is it the answer.

      It wasn’t supposed to make you like one character more than the other. In my humble opinion, they’re all guilty in some way or another. I got a lot of flack about how Faith acted but I also had to keep it real: when you’re in a relationship, are you always calm and level-headed all the time? Or do you throw bitch fits? Do you get emotional? Do you make a big thing out of something small? I don’t know one woman who can’t say she didn’t act like that from time to time. I think too many people want heroines to be perfect without a single flaw and I’m just like, get real. Are they perfect in real life? No. Why should the heroines be perfect in fiction?

      I honestly believe the people who didn’t like the book are the ones who didn’t want to read about what could possibly happen to them, or what has happened to them. When someone holds a mirror to your face and points out your flaws, you wouldn’t like it either. *kanyeshrug*

  5. vicky says:

    I don’t remember saying offended I did not like the subject. I know everything is not perfect believe me remember I been married 26 years. I just hate seeing people break up. What I could not understand was how Eli got to the point of just leaving his family if he love them as was stated. You only stated what Faith may not have been doing in the marriage. You say it is three sides but I am sure he was not always making her happy as well. This book seem to be all about Eli and what he was feeling. Your focus was so much on the mistress side that it just turn me off. And no I do not think that she was a victim because her eyes were open she knew. The only victim I see is Faith because if Eli is not happy he should have divorce his wife and got with Simone. I know that would have been nice but just like most female or male who cheat they want to hold on to both. Yes Ms. Robert your book did cause me to think about it days after as a gave you credit for that in my review. Yes I read your blogs but I was hoping this book would show someone who may have made bad decisions but would have some redemption and growth. And if I was Faith I would have enjoyed Darren a good bit before I let him back in. I wish you would have wrote more about Darren and Faith to balance it off some if it had to happen. Look you are a very good author as I stated before you are one of them I just buy when I see a new release. Thank you so much for taking the time to communicate with me.

    • veraroberts says:

      I understand your opinion but Faith and Eli were only separated for a short time and despite the misleading and false belief that some people seem to have, they won’t divorce. I showed Eli struggling with his decision, I showed Simone struggling with being second-place, I showed Faith wondering where she went wrong in her marriage and debating if the nice athlete is who she should really be with.

      I’m not trying to convert you to change your review because I don’t care. If anything, I’ve had people comment that it was the bad reviews that made them pick up the book and leave a good one so you actually did me a huge favor and I thank you for that promotion. I’m just curious as to why you still chose to read the book, knowing the subject matter.To me, it just doesn’t jive. If I know I won’t like a certain subject matter, I won’t read it, no matter who is the author behind it. It sounds like you thought the book was going to be one way and you were surprised (not in a good way) that it was another, despite my clarity on it. And I really think most people have an issue with the book because they were forced to look at themselves with the mirror I was holding up in front of them.

      I’m not going to argue or debate this; I’m just trying to get an understanding. Just as I understand your opinion, I hope you understand my opinion. It’s all good and I thank you for your support.

  6. Michelle says:

    Ms Vera…let me first start off with saying that I am big fan of yours and I have read all of your books..Congrats on your fabulous work please keep it up 🙂

    With that said, I had an emotional roller coaster with this book. It wasn’t so much about the cheating aspect (which was messed up but hey it happens everyday in the real world) for me it was how he went about it and how he had his epiphany…I was confused to why he went back to his wife….was it because it truly loved his wife and realized that the grass was greener on the other side or was it because his wife in his eyes was starting to move on and he didn’t want to be replace???

    Also, he told Simone on their last night that he loved her but was it he loved her like when they were teenagers or was he loving how she made him feel?? I don’t know if I missed that part or overlooked but that I needed clarity on..also with so much unprotected sex (again I know it happens in the real world) but was he thinking about getting her pregnant or was it Simone goal to get pregnant to tie him to her so he would have another reason to hurry up his divorce and be with her??

    In all the book was good it just left a lot of unanswered questions for me as I read it…I got the ending was not what it seems after I read it for the second time but the question I have since you are in the works of making a part 2, are you going to have Eli going back to his other baby momma (since Simone feels that they are soul mates) and raising their child together and still being dad to Nathan from afar or having Simone and his daughter move to New York or are you going to strictly focus on how Faith is going to deal with development (leaving him, making him chose between her and Simone once again, divorcing him, leaving him for shall I say it Darren)???

    I would hope against hope that you would not have another cheating story again being your concluded with them seemly happy with 3 kids now and he reflecting on this is where he wants to be..I know that it going to be a struggle for Faith but I think her faith an love in Eli has been tested enough…

    If you can answers these questions great if not I will continue to follow you and wait for part 2..again you are great writer who makes your readers think and this book alone has gotten your name out there with the drama that you brought…Thanks

    • veraroberts says:

      Eli and Faith are not divorcing. I need to make that clear. When Faith said divorce wasn’t an option, she meant that. Eli won’t leave Faith for Simone again.

      That being said…

      It’s clear during sometime in their relationship, Eli and Simone stopped using condoms. Whether Simone told Eli she was on the Pill and she tricked him getting her pregnant, or they both knew what they were doing and played Russian Roulette remains to be seen. I haven’t decided which direction I’m going to go with that.

      I have to make this perfectly clear: ELI HAS NO IDEA ABOUT ELENA. Some people thought he was still having a relationship with Simone, which is interesting because that would’ve been clearly stated in the book if that was the case. Of course, Eli will find out about Elena and his reaction won’t be a happy one. He will be very, very angry. Not only will Eli be angry, but so will the rest of the brothers, Nicola, and Faith. Whether they’re angry at him or at Simone remains to be seen as well.

      I am hosting a secret book club event next Sunday so I do encourage you to join and ask the other questions there. I would answer them here but then I’ll give it all away. 🙂

      • Michelle says:

        Thank you so much for clearly up some thing for me 🙂 I will join so that I can have my questions answered but could you just answer one thing for me please..did he return because he really realized that is where he wanted to be or was it because he noticed his wife could easily move on without him and he could be replaced..again please and thanks 🙂

  7. vicky says:

    Ms. Roberts, I just wanted to let you know I am one of the people who gave a low review not because of the writing it was the subject. There are authors like Latrivia Nelson, Sienna Mynx, Mallory Monroe, Beverly Jenkins and Pepper Pace and Vera Roberts that when I see there is a new release I just buy I do not sample or read reviews. I love romance novels, so it is on me that I did not check it out first. I know you wanted to write about real life that is ok but some of us want to escape real life that why we choose certain books. We know five white brothers would not all choose black wives but it is ok. We know half the things that are written would not happen but that is the fun part about the cheesy romance it is just an escape from the real world. I have read most of your books and have enjoyed them so please understand it was not my intention to offend you in any way. Your book was powerful because it had me feeling a certain way. I have been married for 26 years and yes and I was a virgin when we got together and he is the only man I have been with. Over the years we all change nothing is perfect. Some days I can honestly say I really don’t like him at all believe me and I am sure he says the same thing but at the end of the day I still love him and I think he feel the same way. Marriage is hard work we had three other couples that we are friends with that got married at the same time but are all divorce and have been married multiple times and are still not happy. Me and my husband talk about this all the time and we both understand that everyday will not be perfect but you have to work at it. I like the part in the book where Eli is talking to man about been married for a long time and it is so true what he said about the meatloaf. That is how I feel on the days I do not like my husband. I guess I like to see family work and stay together. I know in the real world that it does not happen like that but that is why I turn to a good romance for the excitement of escaping from the real world. Now I know what direction this book is going I will not buy the next one because I do not like giving a bad review and I know what to expect. But will continue to buy S&M books.

    • veraroberts says:

      I really don’t know what to say to that since I’ve promoted the book for months prior to the release. I promoted it heavily on both the Facebook page and on this blog, even the description of the book says what it’s about? I’m just confused as to how you didn’t know what the book was about despite me promoting it? I am curious why you were offended by the subject matter of WIWB but not the content in S&M, particularly the part where Scott refers to Sarah as n*gger and coon and that takes place often in the book? It’s okay for a hero to call another black woman racial epithets but it’s not okay for the hero to cheat on his wife?

      I should point out, however, since I don’t have a clear direction of what the sequel is going to be about, you shouldn’t assume you know. 🙂

      I understand your opinion. Obviously, the book caused you to have a reaction that you’re still talking about days later and that was the point. As an author, I did my job and that’s all I care about. I thank you for your support of the S&M serial.

  8. Marnette says:

    I just wanted to say……. I have purchased many books on my kindle and have never written a review of anything that I have read. I don’t even know if what I wrote on Amazon constitutes as a review but I have read the other two books in this series and in the Scott and Marianne series as well. I was shocked at some of the reviews this morning when I noticed this book was out. So I was compelled to write this and tell you this book was excellent my husband I read this together from start to finish he even made me wait when his brother called for him to take him to the store….. LOL he took my kindle with him because he said he knows I would read on without him. Life is not a picnic all the time and stuff like this happens. I thought that it was very realistic story and was glad that Faith didn’t just take him back right away and they were working on it that is what real couples do. It was pretty obvious that Eli and Simone were not in contact and he had no idea about her being pregnant because she told her mom and the little girl had never met him. I can’t wait for book two and I hope Eli and Faith can hold it together when they find out about Elena. Excellent Job!!!! My husband and I are definite fans. Don’t let the negativity dull your shine.

  9. Shikara Linsy says:

    This book really made me laugh, cry, & cheer for them. Will you be discussing this book on goodreads? Sadly I am not apart of any book clubs.

  10. andersays says:

    Ralph Waldo Emerson, from his essay Self-Reliance, “A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds, adored by little statesman and philosophers and divines. With consistency a great soul has simply nothing to do. He may as well concern himself with his shadow on the wall. Speak what you think now in hard words, and to-morrow speak what to-morrow thinks in hard words again, though it contradict every thing you said to-day. — ‘Ah, so you shall be sure to be misunderstood.’ — Is it so bad, then, to be misunderstood? Pythagoras was misunderstood, and Socrates, and Jesus, and Luther, and Copernicus, and Galileo, and Newton, and every pure and wise spirit that ever took flesh. To be great is to be misunderstood.” Do i get extra brownie points for knowing the history, and essay? 🙂

  11. Tanzi Tompkins says:

    Ms. Vera, Ms. Vera. Loved the book but damn I was not expecting this type of plot. I found myself shaking my head after finishing the book early this morning at Eli’s stupidity.
    Lord help Faith in Book Two.

    • veraroberts says:

      Again, you understood the book. He was stupid. Very, very stupid. And quite selfish. He played both Simone and Faith and he didn’t think his actions would harm anyone but himself. A lot of cheaters have that mindset. Was he thinking about his marriage? That’s definitely debatable. Was he thinking about his son? Definitely not.

  12. jackie says:

    Where I Wanna Be was a great read, it made me cry, cheer for Faith and Eli also made me mad with both of them. But I cheered them on as a couple. I am looking forward to your sequel. In a way it seemed that Eli knew about Simones baby but then again it’s hard to say. Even though Eli and Simone decided not to see each other, I hope she told him about the baby and he and Faith are dealing with her positively. I am cheering for Faith and Eli let see a real marriage go thru trials but come out stronger in the end. I also want to see someone tell Eli about the Simone and Faith visit, he didn’t know(i think he would have really pissed off to know Simone had the nerve to visit Faith about a divorce).

    • veraroberts says:

      Eli has no idea about the baby. None. When Simone left, she knew she was pregnant and she made it a point to not contact Eli. Now, as you’ve seen in the epilogue, her stance has softened a little because she does want her daughter to know about her dad.

      There was a scene where Faith told Eli that Simone confronted her but it was cut.

  13. Annigrey says:

    It takes understanding to read a book like Where I Want to Be and unfortunately, more emotion than understanding surfaces. Yes, there were some moments that made you want to scream at the screen, cry, laugh, roll your eyes…but that’s a sign that the story has gotten to you. It’s gotten under your skin. It’s a sign that it’s a damn good story- especially if it STILL has you talking about it.

    I loved this story even when I had my moment of judgement. And after reading it, I can say with all honesty that it was a learning experience and I will read it again. And again….

    AND there’s a sequel? This day just got so much better!

    As always, Ms. V , you’ve outdone yourself once more!

    • veraroberts says:

      Thank you, dahling.

      I’ve made it a point in my writing “career” that I won’t do cookie-cutter romances. For one, it’s formulaic – boy meets girl, boy chases girl, girl falls in love with boy, boy and girl have some type of conflict, boy and girl make up with Happily Ever After. That’s boring. Where’s the conflict? Where’s the angst? Why are people so caught up in romance novels having a Disney marriage with a fairy-tale Happily Ever After? And why is that Black authors are more under the microscope than our White counterparts?

      I find it particularly interesting that I could write a story, a very popular story, where the hero regularly calls one of the black females a n*gger bitch among other Paula Deen-esque terms and no one blinks at that. I write a story where the hero steps out on his wife and panties across America get bunched.

      Funny how that works. 🙂

  14. Kae H says:

    I thought WIWB was just real. Almost like you had a peak into my life about 16 years ago. Humans love to place blame instead of looking at the whole picture to find a solution to the problem. As a wife, mother and a woman I always tell people there is a A side, a C side and somewhere in the middle is B (the truth). It’s easy to judge from the outside looking in without all of the facts of a situation. I’ve had 2 husband’s and I’ve been Eli and Faith. Keep making us think and discuss Mrs. V.

    • veraroberts says:

      You actually get it and that was the point. When there’s infidelity in a relationship, it really is three-sided – the wife, the husband, the other person. And who knows what really goes on behind closed doors? That scene when Faith’s hairstylists are talking, even they had to question if Faith was being completely honest with them.

      I honestly think in the romance genre, particularly in interracial books, readers have to have a perfect heroine and a perfect hero. What’s interesting about that is I’ve written a story with a perfect hero/heroine, and it was called unrealistic. But I write a story with a flawed hero/heroine, and people are picking them apart as if they’re cherries. You can’t win.

      The interesting thing about the negative reviews of the story is I can tell based on how the review, if the reader has read any of my prior works. And most of them haven’t. But I will guarantee you, they will read the sequel. 🙂

Comments are closed.