V-Spotlight Interview: Author L. VanHorn!

Valkyrie

Hello, hello!

Welcome back to another V-Spotlight interview, featuring the talented L. VanHorn! Today, she will share with us where she gets her inspiration for those steamy love scenes she writes, who she would want cast in a film adaptation of her books, and who she likes to read.

*****

You have written books with many different and memorable characters. Which one is your favorite? 

Well, since Valkyrie Slumbering is the first book I’ve released under this pen name, I’ll stick with one of the characters from it. I’d have to say Grim. Half-Irish, half-Viking, what’s not to love there?! Grim is all warrior but still respects the fact that a woman can be a warrior too.

Do your personal experiences affect your writing?

Absolutely. Everything I experience in life adds to what I learn and everything I learn makes it way into my writing in some form. My life has been an adventure and I think that shows in my writing.

What is your favorite story? 

That’s tough, there are so many good books out there! My current favorite is An Unexpected Return, an erotic sci-fi novella by Jessica E. Subject. What’s not to love about a pleasure planet?!

Who and what do you read?

I read science fiction and fantasy for the most part (preferably with erotic elements). Romance in any story is always a plus for me. Some of my favorite authors are Jessica Subject, Laurell Hamilton, Kim Harrison.

What is the hardest part about writing your books?

Finding the time to put all the stories in my head on paper.

You’re about to write a steamy love scene. How do you create mood/atmosphere at home or where you write?

I’m a big fan of Pinterest (though of course one has to be careful about photo rights there). I create a board for each of my works in progress and open them for inspiration when I’m writing. A steamy scene often calls for candlelight, wine, and good music as well. http://pinterest.com/lillyvanhorn/

Speaking of the steamy love scenes, where do you get inspiration for those?

I have a wonderful man that is open to ‘research’. 😉

Which love scene is your favorite? 

By me, I’d have to say the first time Grim and Kyra (in Valkyrie Slumbering) make love completely. The build-up just about killed me to write and by the time the moment finally arrived, it was sheer bliss.

What advice can you give aspiring authors?

Write, write, and write some more. Never stop, especially when you’re querying. And just as important, never stop trying to improve.

Have you read anything that makes you think differently about fiction? 

Donald Maass’s Writing The Breakout Novel.

Who would you cast in a film/TV adaptation of your book? 

That’s tough! One of the Hemsworth brothers for Grim and maybe Scarlett Johanssen if she hit the gym and buffed up a bit.

Please share a sample of your latest work! 

After the murder of her father, Kyra’s heart is consumed by the need for revenge. The hunt is all that matters. But a chance crossing of paths with the alluring and mysterious Grim threatens to derail her focus and her quest. Something about him draws her in, melts her walls, and speeds her heart. Like her, he is half Alfhiem, but it’s more than that. He’s funny, considerate, and treats her as an equal even in battle, something most of the Vikings of her native homeland would never do.

Steamy nights is one thing, but Kyra can’t allow her heart to become wrapped up with anyone, not until she finds and kills the man who murdered her father. Traveling across the countryside with Grim, though, challenges her resolve in more ways than she thought possible. She still hungers for the hunt but that hunger begins to dim in comparison to the one that grows inside her for Grim.

Creatures that could only be from the legendary land of Midgard interrupt their hunt again and again, creatures that shouldn’t exist in this realm. Soon it becomes unclear whether or not Kyra and Grim are the hunters, or the hunted. But who would hunt them, and why?

*****

I like to thank L. VanHorn for stopping by! To purchase Valkyrie Slumbering, please click the following links:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Goodreads

To connect with L. VanHorn, please visit her at the following:

Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

*****

If you are an author and would like an interview to promote your latest work, please send me an e-mail at eroticamistress@gmail.com.

One thought on “V-Spotlight Interview: Author L. VanHorn!

Comments are closed.