V-Spotlight Interview: Emelia Hayes!

Hello Everyone!

Welcome to the first V-Spotlight interview of the year. Today I’m interviewing Ms. Emelia Hayes, author of Taste. She has been gracious enough to come by and share what her favorite story is, where she gets inspiration for her stories, and what really goes on when she prepares to write one of those steamy love scenes.

taste cover 2 XX

1.       You have written a lot of books with different and memorable characters. Which one is your favorite and why?

I would have to say Kyle Lancaster from my novel ‘Taste’.  He is an alpha male but puts the needs of the main character (Allie Ambrosi) first.  He’s not the jealous type and has no qualms about sharing.  He’s also quite adventurous and full of surprises.  My ideal man!

2.       Do your personal experiences affect your writing?

Not very often.  I write fantasies and let my imagination run wild.

3.       What is your favorite story?

Only one?  I have so many favorites.  But my favorite for 2012 is ‘Naughty or Nice’ by Kari Lee Harmon.

4.       Who and what do you read?

I read all genres by a variety of authors, both traditional and independent.  I like chick-lit and erotica, but also don’t mind a good suspense or fantasy (paranormal) novel.

5.       What is the hardest part about writing your books?

The editing.  Usually a story will just flow but the editing process is long and arduous.

6.       You’re about to write a steamy love scene. How do you create mood/atmosphere at home or where you write?

I don’t need to set a physical scene as all scenes are in my head.  I have a vivid imagination.  As long as I have quiet, I just type.

7.       Speaking of the steamy love scenes, where do you get inspiration for those?

I’ve been reading steamy novels for many years and don’t mind a good romance movie or two.  Scenes stay in my head and I draw from them when necessary.  Most times I will write what the characters want to do.  Yes, characters have minds of their own.

8.       What is a favorite love scene you have read?

One scene that has stayed with me is from Johanna Lindsey’s novel ‘The Magic of You’.  It is a Historical novel so the antics of the characters are slightly risqué for the era.  I loved that the female character was so brazen.

9.       What advice can you give aspiring authors?

Keep writing and edit, edit, edit.

10. Now can you share a snippet of your title?

Taste by Emelia Hayes

“Allie?”

“Yes?”

“Did you do what I asked you to do?”

Her eyes widened.

“Did you?” he whispered against her ear.

She nodded and heat flooded between her legs.

Kyle smiled before moving to the door.  She heard the click of the lock and stared at him.

“I want to see,” he said as he made his way back to her.

“Here?” she shrieked.

He pulled her in his arms and ran a tongue over her lips.  “Yes.”

She couldn’t.  They couldn’t.  Not in the office.

Kyle’s fingers found the zip of her skirt and before she knew it, the skirt lay in a heap at her feet.

Kyle took a step back and surveyed her handiwork.  “Beautiful,” he said and moved towards her again.  He grabbed her waist and lifted her onto the desk.

“Kyle,” she croaked.

“Spread your legs,” he ordered.

A chill ran up her spine.  She loved it when he was forceful.

“Now,” he said.

Without taking her eyes off him, she spread her legs.  Her pussy purred.

Kyle’s gaze felt like a caress.  He looked at her for a very long time and then stepped closer. He got on his knees and ran his hands up her thigh-high silk-stockings.  He stared at her bare pussy, then met her gaze.

She could barely breathe but couldn’t look away from his lust-filled eyes.

Moving his face closer between her legs, Kyle licked his lips before spreading her open before him. When his tongue ran over her newly-shaved skin, her body flamed. He pulled her forward on the desk and her arms fell back to steady herself.  There was a crash as her pen holder fell to the floor.  It didn’t matter.  All she could think about was Kyle’s hot breath on her sensitive skin.

*****

I like to thank Ms. Emelia for stopping by! Taste is available at the following online retailers (click the link to purchase):

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Smashwords

iTunes

To further connect with Ms. Emelia, please visit her blog located here.