Author Interview: Rosanna Leo

Hello Everyone,

Welcome back to another author interview! I had the pleasure of interviewing Ms. Rosanna Leo, author of For the Love of a God, about her newest release, what inspires her steamy love scenes, and what is her favorite character:

You have written books with many different and memorable characters. Which one is your favorite?  Please explain why.

I think Calan from The Selkie has to be my most memorable because I’ve had such a good reaction to his character. The ladies seem to love him! He’s a selkie, and that mythology, while not new, is relatively uncommon in erotic romance. I am awed and humbled when female readers tell me he tops their list of favorite men too. He’s also such a card. I’ve tried to make him very cheeky but also dead sexy.

Do your personal experiences affect your writing?

Absolutely. I don’t use others in my books a lot, but tend to use a lot of my feelings and emotions. My heroines are a lot like me: neurotic at times, nerdy and awkward. So a lot of what they go through emotionally is close to something I’ve gone through.

What is your favorite story? By you? By someone else?

Of all time? Well, my top three would have to be Jane Eyre, Outlander by Diana Gabaldon and CS Lewis’ Narnia Chronicles.

Who and what do you read? 

I once read tones of mysteries, from Agatha Christie to Simon Brett. However, now it’s pretty much all romance. It feeds my soul. I love reading the works of Molly Harper, Kathy Love and Erin McCarthy.

What is the hardest part about writing your books?

Outlining. I’m more of a panster, although I do work from a general guideline. If I become too stringent with outlines, it always goes awry. I like my freedom and my characters speak more freely when they’re not bound to an outline.

You’re about to write a steamy love scene. How do you create mood/atmosphere at home or where you write?

Actually, I don’t tend to set the scene in any way. There might be a song in my head, but I prefer silence. I just draw inspiration from reading out the lines I’m writing, almost acting the scene as if in a movie. It just flows from there.

Speaking of the steamy love scenes, where do you get inspiration for those?

Although I am a happily married woman, none of my sex scenes are from my life or anyone else’s confidences in me. I don’t share that sort of thing. The steam just rises from the pages on its own! It comes from picking two characters who NEED to be together!

Which love scene is your favorite? By you? By someone else?

By me, in my first paranormal For the Love of a God, my hero Eryx is quite blatant at one point with the hero Maia. He tells her in no uncertain terms what he wants to do with her. That scene still turns me on! As for someone else’s, pretty much any moment when Diana Gabaldon’s characters Jamie and Claire are on the page together makes me melt!

What advice can you give aspiring authors?

Do your homework. If you are taking the time and effort to make a submission, make sure you’re submitting to the right publisher and are following their guidelines. Nothing like wasted effort.

Share a sample of your latest work!

The Selkie blurb:

He was beautiful, if unnervingly wet and naked. He had long, shiny, brown hair that hung down past his shoulders. His face could have belonged on an ad for expensive cologne, and he had a body to match. Sculpted shoulders gave way to arms corded in muscle. His defined chest was blanketed by a smattering of sparse, brown hair that led tantalizingly to his rock-hard abs.

Maggie held her breath as her gaze traveled lower on his body, taking in trim calves and thighs a quarterback would envy. And, she noted with simultaneous hunger and horror, his penis was the biggest she’d ever had the pleasure of seeing. It was thick and long and glistening with the droplets of water that yet cascaded over his body. And it seemed to be reaching for her. She gulped, and forced herself to look back up at his face.

There was a faint glow about his skin, a shimmery aura. Dismissing it as a trick of the moonlight, she shook her head.

He was almost upon her, and his full lips were taut in a teasing grin. Maybe he was a surfer who’d lost not only his board, but his shorts in the waves. She knew she should be frantic, but wasn’t. There was something in his brown eyes that was so familiar, so soothing, even as they swept over her own body with lustful appreciation.

He stopped in front of her, and stood boldly, unashamed of his glorious nakedness. She managed to spit out one hushed word. “You.”

“You,” was his equally awed reply.

To purchase The Selkie, please visit Rosanna Leo’s Amazon page.

Thank you, Ms. Rosanna, for a wonderful interview!

-V.

If you are an erotica/erotic romance author and would like to be interviewed, please e-mail me at eroticamistress@gmail.com.

One thought on “Author Interview: Rosanna Leo

Comments are closed.