Donde esta, Vera?

 

It’s been about…geez, um…July…yep, July…since I’ve last posted on my blog. Crazy. I keep saying I’m going to post more but we all know how that turns out…I don’t. I’m not going to keep giving you promises when we all know I probably won’t keep them. I’m active on the Facebook page but it’s hard to keep that clean when you really want to be dirty. Le sigh. First-world author problems, hmm? LOL.

But I’ve been a good busy. I’ve been churning out books like they’re about to go out of style. I created another alter-ego, Rhett Rochelle, and was surprised that one has done pretty well. It wasn’t my intention to reveal my other pen name; I found out the books I had as Rhett were being pirated (as well as my Vera books but that was to be expected) and I was ‘forced’ out.  Kinda bummed about that. I really wanted to see how far I could go as ‘Rhett’ before anyone would make the correlation between Vera and Rhett. Oh well. Now I have to create another pen name (won’t be revealing that one) and test my experiment again.

So what’s my experiment? I wanted to see if people would buy a book by me that wasn’t necessary under the Vera brand. And as it turned out, people do. A lot of them. Now, it would be nice if I could get the same amount of reviews as I do sales but that’s just wishful thinking. I do appreciate the reviews I do get, good or bad. I rarely read my reviews because I don’t want an ego or to wonder why someone has Popeye innnanet (yes, misspelled purposely) muscles when they proclaim how much they hate me. Of course, I won’t tell you what books they are or what genre. I won’t promote them at all. I just wanted to see if I could sell a book. I’ll keep you posted on that experiment.

I’m starting the transition from erotica to sensual romance. I’ve been writing erotica for a long time now and as much as I like it, there are only so many ways you can use the terms ‘pussy’, ‘cock’, ‘tight’, ‘wet’ and many other euphemisms, before you get tired of it. S&M has sold a lot of books but Til Tomorrow has, by far, been one of my biggest sellers. That says something. And I love writing romance. I love the build-up, the intensity, the passion, the love, the desire, and the sensuality. I can get all that in a good erotic romance but there’s something just so sweet and sensual in a good romance that I don’t know…I really love.

Of course, I do have at least two more erotica novels coming out; one as soon as the end of this year. I guess as an author I want more growth as I perfect my craft. I don’t want to be known as Vera Roberts, BDSM author. I don’t want to be known as Vera Roberts, erotica author. I just want to be known as Vera Roberts, author. (Still getting used to that term, author.) My husband and many other author friends gave me wonderful advice and I’ve been reading a lot lately, many different genres and that’s helped with the storytelling. I’ve had several beta readers (shout-out to my wonderful team of SG, MK, and TE) as well as an editor.

It honestly does feel like I just took off the training wheels. Scary but cool.

One of my girlfriends, Sarah, talked me down from the figurative ledge yesterday. In short, there’s a lot of expectation of Vol. II and I wondered briefly (very briefly) to shove the project and start afresh, postponing the release date to next year. She told me saw ‘great things’ happening for me in the future. Truth is we both know she’s right. I do feel like I’m more on the cusp now than ever before. And I think that’s what makes it scary; you know things are happening and they’re moving at a pace faster than you expected. It’s like a rollercoaster, really.

For those who have known me since my fan fiction days, I sincerely, truly thank you. For those who have known me since I started this blog, you’re amazing. For those just following me now, you’re awesome. I can never thank you enough. I know I’m good but your support makes me great.

And there you have it,

-V.

7 thoughts on “Donde esta, Vera?

  1. Chantale Reve says:

    No, Ms. V, you’re the one who’s awesome. Good luck and great vibes as you prepare the next S&M sequel for publication.

    Never think you need to apologize for being MIA because you know and we know that you are not. While you were missed, you were not missing, and as an artist you are always in action. Fans of your fiction, and your non-fic blog posts know that your writing is worth the wait.

    We writers need time to channel inspiration, create, rewrite, edit, rewrite (or scrap and then rewrite), edit, rewrite some more, proofread (or wait for a professional edit, copyedit and proof)–and all of this while we are engaged with the mundaneness of life as well as interacting with loved ones, acquaintances, colleagues.

    Just don’t stop writing. We trust you’ll return.

  2. Echokid14 says:

    You really shouldn’t worry Vera you’re an amazing author, I always knew from your Fanfic days that you were a great author. I’m so glad that your getting the success that you deserve. I hope you continue writting and creating brilliant books, I wish you nothing but the best.

  3. Rincewind says:

    love to see you back here as well but I do try to keep track of your writing as much as possible, good luck with the romantic ones, not my cup of tea but still love a well written novel in whatever genre it might be in so don’t be surprised when I buy yours… Big kisses sweetie…

    • veraroberts says:

      Thank you, honey! It’s been so long since I’ve been on this site, I have so many blog postings to catch up on. Romance isn’t for everyone. I was talking to the Mr. the other day about how I would love to do a fantasy or even a Sci-Fi novel. I guess the Game of Thrones books spoiled me.

      ________________________________

      • Rincewind says:

        oh yeeees, please do, let’s put in some sexy sorceresses pleeeease 🙂 love my fantasy/sci-fi books… but good to see that Game of Thrones are inspiring you…

      • veraroberts says:

        Game of Thrones is pretty erotic. Of course, I don’t read the series for that but George R.R. Martin does his thing in there. The Lady in Red….I really dig her. She’s like creepypasta but intriguing. Her giving birth to….well, I’m not going to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t seen it but that part tripped me the eff out! I love reading the books and see howthey playout on the screen. I always have discussions with the hubby about certain scenes if I don’t get it. HBO has done a great job in staying true to the book and characters. I will say the Lady in Red did inspire Sanora. Just a woman who has that quiet magic and power, but smoldering sensuality beneath her exterior…I mean, that type of woman really doesn’t exist.

        ________________________________

Comments are closed.