And I do believe I created a monster…

I’ve always wondered what it is like to be popular and famous. Well, I’m not famous….I’m infamous. Maybe one day I’ll be famous.

So Vol. I was released last week and well, the reaction has been interesting. Despite me saying here and here on what the story was going to be about, not to mention the many, many Facebook updates on exactly what the story was going to be  about, there were quite a few of you that voiced (maybe, angrily objected is the right term) your displeasure on the storyline of Vol. I. A few of you actually said you were going to skip Vol. I and go straight to Vol. 2.

If I were you, I wouldn’t do that. 

The way the S&M series is written, the first three books are stand-alone, meaning you don’t have to read one to find out what’s happening in the others. Now, it would help if you did, but it’s not a requirement. However, the final book in the series is not a stand-alone. You would have to read the first three books to understand the final.

I repeat: you would have to read the first three books to understand the final book. There’s no way around it. 

To those who loved Vol. I, I gave you a special sneak preview of Vol. 2. And you should contest to the fact that yes, the same characters mentioned in Vol. 1 will make a reappearance in Vol. 2 in different roles. Characters mentioned in S&M II will come back in Vol. 2. Situations in S&M I will come back in Vol. 2.

I repeat: you would have to read the first three books to understand the final book. There’s no way around it. 

And just to make it clear, this is not a ploy to get you to purchase Vol. 1. If you do or don’t, that’s up to you. But I also don’t want a repeat (which I’ll probably get, anyway) of how Vol. 2 wasn’t the story you were expecting. This is the last time I will address this. Period.

I have hired a PR representative to take over because I’ve spent more time within the past week doing damage control than I have writing. So while I’ll still occasionally update my Facebook page, but for the most part, it won’t be me making the posts.  But that’s not a bad thing: you want me to write more and finish Vol. 2.  The release date with Vol. 2 will be out mid-summer or fall 2012. No sooner. 

And there you have it,

-V.

18 thoughts on “And I do believe I created a monster…

  1. nicoleh73 says:

    Either way I’m excited about this. I have S&M I & II and I love all of the characters and the story line so it doesn’t matter to me. This series is my favorite by you!

    • veraroberts says:

      Thank you so much! It’s been fun to write. It won’t be the end of S&M despite the end of the series, though. I have a lot more in store. :)

      ________________________________

  2. Rincewind says:

    same as everyone else said, just finished it and I loved it, true fan boy here 🙂 but still better that people are commenting on your work than no one commenting at all right? Big love from me as always, can’t wait for the rest.

  3. walker says:

    I’m sorry that people are doing this to you. But…. you did say that this was how it was going to be. I loved the book. I actually rereading it for like a third time. Lol.

  4. Becca says:

    Hi Vera,
    Sorry that folks have been upset about Vol 3..
    I enjoyed it , it’s nice to have some background on Scott’s life and I look forward to the next installment .
    Thanks or taking the time to put pen to paper there’re ally of us who Do appreciate it !
    Becca

  5. shakayla says:

    thought the book was great all until the end def understand that u were going into Scott past but the end would have been better without repeating what we had already read from the first book but i’m sure u had a reason for it so still a fan and cant wait for the next one!

  6. Toni says:

    I’m still not buying it when two comes out if it makes me want to know about the past then I will buy it then not before.

  7. latonya says:

    It shouldn’t have to be this serious. You’ve said it time and time again what book 3 was going to be about. Don’t get why people are complaining about it though.

  8. Tesh says:

    I hate that people were upset about S&M3 Vol 1, it was exactly what you said that it would be. I hope that all is well with you and keep on doing what you are doing.

    You rock!!!

Comments are closed.