Every Day I’m Hustling…

Well, no…not really. I just like that song.

So let me begin this blog post on thanking everyone for their wonderful support, both professionally and personally. Again, the last several weeks were (and are) very challenging but my desire to be successful far outweighs my grief. Now that’s out-of-the-way:

Gettin’ It is on progress to outsell the S&M series, which is a surprise. Well, not really. Gettin’ It is just a straight erotica story while the S&M series is wonderful BDSM goodness.  Some have mentioned you liked Gettin’ It better, others have commented they liked the S&M series better. I’m not offended either way. As a writer, it’s my duty to push myself to see what works and what doesn’t. I don’t expect you to love everything I write. There might be stories you read and go ‘meh, it’s okay but could’ve been better.’ I expect there are some stories you will like better than others and that’s fine. In fact, that’s expected. I do not want anyone, however, to think each story I write after the S&M series to be just like those stories. I wouldn’t want to do that, either. I’m not Dan Brown.

(On a side tangent here…I hate…absolutely hate people who write erotica just to sell books. You can always tell the difference between someone who’s writing it to make a coin and get some type of infamy and those who write it because they enjoy the genre. Ugh.boo.hiss. That really grinds my gears. If you’re going to write erotica, at least try to tell a damn story! Please? Okay and thank you.)

SELF-PROMOTION! SELF-PROMOTION! SELF-PROMOTION!

Speaking of the S&M series, there will be a change in price. No, it won’t be free but it definitely won’t be $0.99. Truth to be told, S&M II wasn’t going to be $0.99 originally but it was a decision to get the Vera brand ‘out there’ and a $0.99 book by a relatively new author was the way to go. So, expect to shell out a bit more than $0.99 next go-round. How much? Not too much. Probably somewhere between $1.99 and $3.99. It’s a fair warning. I don’t want to release the book and you’re shell-shocked by the price.

So when in the hell is S&M III going to be released? Good question and I wish I had a straight answer. It was going to be released in March. Then I mentioned late March/early April. I did pencil in a date somewhere between March and May (I did say spring 2012, I didn’t say when in spring). S&M III will be significantly bigger (read: more word count and pages) than Part II, which was a little over 35K words. You’re looking at a full-length novel here. I’m still contemplating on breaking Part III into two smaller novellas. The reason is, without entirely giving it all away, I want to explain the story of Scott and Caprina. Who Scott was before he met Mariana was a completely different person. He wasn’t an asshole.  He was very much a happy go-lucky type of guy. Hard to imagine? Yes. Fun to write? You betcha.

I also want to dive into the D/s relationship from another perspective. A male Dom is hot and sexy but what about a FemDom? Is she just as sexy? Is she a bitch?  Does she humiliate? What pleasure does she get with her sub? Besides jilting him at the altar, what in the hell did Caprina do to Scott that was so bad he would never allow another woman do it to him again? To help me with my research, I’ve spoken with several FemDoms on their practices; some I have mentioned on this very blog last year. Let me just tell you: Caprina puts Scott through the ringer. But she won’t be his only influence. In fact, there’s a bigger influence on Scott by the name of Sanora.

Wow...that's pretty hot!

In other news, I’m going to pick back up the Vera Commentary soon. One of my good friends reads this blog and noticed what I had to say about his relationship. After getting on me for dogging him out (he was an idiot and that’s the truth), he wants me to update all of you on his status. Hah! I have other real-life relationship statuses I’m going to update as well. Thank God I have great friends who understand when I talk about them and the stupid shit they’re doing with their relationships, I would also say it to their faces. (All of my friends who know about ‘Vera’ know about this blog.) It’s so good to be Vera. 🙂

Lastly, I have several other stories coming out this year. It’s my goal to release a story every quarter. That’ll be at least four books this year. Of course, I won’t release four, it’ll be a bigger number than that and longer books as well. One reason I’m doing this is partially to work through the grieving process, partially because I’m tired of sitting on hundreds (yes, hundreds) of stories and not sure what to do with them. Of course, the real reason I’m doing this is to piss off the haters. Haters hate to see you shine. I know this because a few of them are subscribed to this blog and have been following me for a few weeks now. I see you. <3. I feel like Katt Williams when he says if you have 10 haters, it’s your goal to get 11.

I hope all of you are doing wonderful and great. Stay beautiful, stay blessed, but remain sexy.

And there you have it,

-V

6 thoughts on “Every Day I’m Hustling…

  1. Patrice says:

    I’m new to your books, and I shied away from them for the longest cuz I just wasn’t into the whole BDSM thing, but girllllllllll, I read S&M Pts I and II over the weekend, and I was like DAMN, I need to get spanked! I am hooked and CANNOT wait for Pt III. You know it’s a good read when you react out loud (I wanted to actually kick Sarah’s ass, lol…)

    Keep up the great work, and now I’m off to Amazon to purchase Gettin It:)

  2. Chantale Reve says:

    I really dig “Gettin’ It” and the S&M series for entirely different reasons. The former had me blushing and cupping my mouth; the latter had me spanking myself.

    I just love your naturalistic style, the rich dialogue and the internal monologue. The characters come alive on the page. Some I think I’ve met in person (just kidding there).

    It is a pleasure to support continuously and joyously the (heart)work of an artist who actually cares about plot and plausibility.

  3. nicoleh73 says:

    I purchased “Gettin it” and “Bad Girls” for my Kindle. Now I have something to read at work! I’m going to write a review on Amazon sometime this weekend. I’m looking forward to “S&M” 3. Those two are my favorite couple. Keep up the good work Vera, and keep your eye on the prize! (Like you need me to tell you that! 😉 )

Comments are closed.