And the buck stops here….

Alright, after some soul-searching, I decided to release the Sex and the Angel Mommy series as a book. A paid book. I figured if you really want to know how I’m doing, you’ll pay for it. Think of me as your personal prostitute.

This decision was based on a few of things. One, I got a little uncomfortable seeing the number of blog subscriptions within the past two weeks and I’m sure that has nothing to do with me being a writer and being totally awesome. And even the blog hits today also had nothing to do with a sneak peek. When you have 500+ hits but only one comment, that tells me there are people out there more interested in watching the train wreck than offering support.

Secondly, this decision was also brought on by the fact I was uncomfortable last night seeing people I don’t even talk to (or like for that matter) re-subscribing to the blog and yet, not one word of support was offered from them. Geez, thanks. I hate to disappoint you but there’s no train wreck here. Nor will there ever be one.

Third, I’m not an expert. What happened was awful and I wish it didn’t occur. Still, I don’t want anyone to look at what I’m going through and see what I’m doing is a means of normal. What works for me, may not work for you. There are different ways of handling grief. I just happened to be in the public eye.

Ugh.boo.hiss.

Unfortunately, the recluse in me came back out so no more talk of my pregnancy, my son, or anything remotely personal will be mentioned for now on.What that means for the Sex and the Married Woman series is to be determined. I apologize for the inconvenience but the less you know about Vera, the person, the happier I’ll be. And you all want a happy Vera. 🙂

And there you have it,

-V.

8 thoughts on “And the buck stops here….

  1. Chantale Reve says:

    Vera, you have my deepest condolences. I was so far behind in catching up on my reading because of my current work-in-progress. I am disgusted that people would be so callous as to intrude on the personal and disrespect.

    Regarding comments on blog, they never are the best barometer of a writer’s success in the blogsphere. You are a formidable writer — whether it’s fiction, essay or witty social commentary. I’m happy to support your writing on Smashwords.com and pray that I don’t fuck up my PayPal account so that I can continue purchasing copies of your e-books for myself and my open-minded friends.

    Take the time you need. Don’t underestimate the compassion of your core readers. Ignore the idiots.

    Love,
    Chantale

  2. nicoleh73 says:

    And I wanted to add: Vera, you’re not obligated to share anything you don’t want to share. Sometimes it’s best to keep our personal/private lives seperate. I’m sorry for your loss. I’ve been there. Writing is a wonderful healing tool, and you have an amazing gift. I’m happy I discovered your work. 🙂

  3. nicoleh73 says:

    I will continue to support your work as well. I’m new here, and I downloaded “S&M” 1&2 to my kindle, and fell in love with your work. I love to support self-published writers and I enjoy reading about the creative process.

  4. lynngreg says:

    Sorry to hear that Vera. I’m one of those who follow but have never commented. I’ve tried a few times but dang thing wouldn’t let me. I guess I shouldn’t have stopped trying.

    I know what you’re going through, I went through it myself. I have no words to offer you there, because it’s awful and words didn’t help me at all. But you do what you have to do, girl. I followed you from fanfic.net, I’ll follow you here, no matter what u decide to share. I do love the excerpts and hearing about how your writing career is going.

    I bought S&M I and II recently on my Christmas Kindle, ready for me to read and review. I already know I’ll love it because I love everything else you’ve done.

  5. Chele Belle says:

    Sorry to hear about your loss. I only started following your blog after finishing S&M II last week. When working through your backlog of postings I found out about your miscarriage. I cannot speak for anyone else but as a reader of your work I must say I would have no problems seeing just postings featuring excerpts of your latest work. Good luck working through your sorrow and finishing the S&M story.

  6. Clare says:

    Hey Vera.

    I just wanted to send you a message because I read your most recent blog, and I don’t want you feeling like every new hit/ person subscribing to your site is only there because they want to know what happened in your personal life.

    It may be that there are people out there like me who have always admired you from afar. I remember you on fanfic.net, and the success you’ve made from writing inspires me. You’re one of a few authors who publish ebooks that I don’t find arrogant, up themselves or sell outs. You seem genuine, and like you’re doing this for the right reasons.

    And while I don’t very often comment on your blog, I do read every entry. Be it sneak peaks or personal. But it also happens that I’m terribly shy – even online – but I commented on your memorial post because it touched me so deeply because I lost a child too.

    You’ve every right to stop talking about your personal life in your blog. I just wanted you to know not everyone here is here because they get some sick kick out of your pain.

    I genuinely want to know how you’re doing, and hear about your writing success.

    All the best for the future.

    God bless.

    Clare.

  7. tonya says:

    Girl now you know there are people out there that gets happy off of other peoples pain, misery, and mishaps. I don’t blame you one bit. And you are an awesome writer!

Comments are closed.