The Making of Gettin’ It

Originally, I had ideas for three stories this winter quarter: a short, a freebie, and a Christmas story. Somewhere along the way, real life got in the way and well, only the short is being released right now. (Never fear, the Christmas story will be released as a Valentine’s story and there will be a freebie somewhere between this story and the Valentine’s story.)

I pulled a story from the archives to write. It wasn’t an easy decision since there were so many but I chose one that I thought at the time wouldn’t take too much effort to edit. Clearly, I underestimated myself as usual. The original story was titled The Office and it centered around a girl cleaning an executive’s office at his work. Sounds familiar? Well, it is. That story was also the backdrop for a series some of you are already too familiar with:

You know I had to put this in here for shameless self-promotion.

Realizing that, I had to quickly make a decision. Should I proceed with the story as is and suffer comments and reviews on how “original” the story is? Or should start fresh and possibly delaying the release date? Well, as much as I like to take chances, I don’t like to be formulaic (that’s for you, Dan Brown) so I started semi-afresh. I twisted some things in the story and rewrote it. And rewrote. And rewrote. And rewrote.

As some of you may know by now, I’m not the typical erotica writer who releases a story every couple of weeks. I applaud those who do but that’s not my style. I guess I’m too much of a perfectionist. I also like to release quality work. The Erotic Intoxication, Vol I: Bad Girls was a good start but I also know if I had waited a bit, it could’ve been a better book. I took that very approach with the S&M series and well, the rest is history. The S&M series has been, by far, my most successful book(s).

On Monday (which would be today), I’ll release a sneak peek and maybe the cover of Gettin’ It. I had the book originally scheduled for release on Tuesday and I’m going to try to keep that deadline. If not Tuesday, definitely on Thursday. Either way, you’re getting a $0.99 book this week.

Thank you for being so wonderful and patient. I really appreciate it. I also thank those who took the time out to leave a written review for the S&M series. Your words have helped the books sell by the bundles. You totally rock my socks.

-V.