Vera Commentary: I’m Not Your Average Thirtysomething

Well, I’m not sure what average is but I do know I’m definitely not it.

Tomorrow is my birthday when I’ll turn thirtysomething. I originally had my age posted but my husband was against me telling my age. What a sweet man. He always reminds me why I married him by just little things he does.

 

Instead of painting the town red like I do every year, I opted to stay home with my husband, Maks, and our kitten, Sushi. (I’ll explain more why I chose this route on Tuesday’s Sex and the Married Woman post). Every year, I wonder what I have done in the past year that makes my birthday so worthwhile. Some people look at their birthday as just another day. Some look at it as a day to celebrate the greatness they are (or think they are).

I am in the latter category because honestly, I kick ass. And you wouldn’t be here if you didn’t think I kick ass, also.

SELF-PROMOTION! SELF-PROMOTION! SELF-PROMOTION!

 

Within the past year since my last birthday, I have gone almost-mainstream. I say almost because I’m not quite there yet. But I’ve published four books before my birthday. I’ve developed a cult following. I, Vera Roberts, kick all sorts of ass.

It’s also been a year of reflection. I’ve undergone a lot of emotional and mental changes, even a little physical.  I’ve finally become comfortable in my skin again and it’s taken me some time. I guess my late Granny was right: the older you get, the less you give a fuck about what people think about you. (No, she didn’t it like that.)

So cheers to another wonderful year! Thank you for being so patient with me. I guarantee you, it will pay off. Like now…say hello to yaderei…

-V.

One thought on “Vera Commentary: I’m Not Your Average Thirtysomething

  1. Rincewind says:

    OMG! I missed this post. HAPPY BIG (slightly delayed) BIRTHDAY GREETINGS. Enjoy… I love having birthday even if it means getting slightly older but never wiser (need to work on that) 🙂

Comments are closed.